We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice view and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keenan's at the Pier

Keenan's at the Pier
804 10th Street, The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, Bellingham, WA
360.392.5510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 387 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice view and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the chrysalis inn which is the attached hotel/spa. We enjoyed some wonderful beverages on the patio with a couple items from the menu after we checked inn. The food was good, as were the drinks. The service however was great. A big thank you to our server Roger. He was friendly and engaging. We also went back for breakfast. We both really enjoyed our breakfasts. Timely service and our food came quickly (this is something I really appreciate at breakfast as I do not want to sit there all day). Again the food was great and we were very pleased with both of our experiences at Keenan's. Only improvement would be staying open later. My wife and I came back to the hotel for dessert and for a few more drinks but found the restaurant closed at 9pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A welcome new addition to Bellingham dining options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our party of four had a splendid dinner here. Despite a busy Saturday evening crowd, the servers and the chef were attentive, friendly, and eager to please.

Salads were quite large and clearly very fresh from the garden; the accompanying strawberries or candied walnuts and warm goat cheese were terrific accents. Sockeye salmon and scallops were perfectly cooked and presented well on spring risotto or on a generous bed of green vegetables: broccolini, asparagus and cauliflower. The Thai seafood stew had a deep rich flavor with several plump mussels and clams, but not with much fish; served with white rice, it was still quite filling. Creme brules were perfectly cooked: not too sweet and with a pleasant ginger flavor.

A delightful meal in beautiful setting overlooking the sparkllng water of the bay. We look forward to future visits to Keenan's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I just had the most delicious dinner at Keenan's! The food is healthy, local and quality. We both had salmon, perfectly cooked. Our salads were unique and fresh. The fried goat cheese on the green salad melted in your mouth! The desserts are made in house.
Our waitress was attentive, friendly, and sweet.
The only two negatives are: its pricey. And the restaurant was freezing cold.
Make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really nice restaurant with lovely view. Service was just wonderful...really a very friendly nice waitress. All around really good!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast; good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Chrysalis Hotel and thought the restaurant would be a fancy fared overpriced place to eat but instead the food was in-season, local and fresh. We had simple bacon and eggs as well as french toast. We were surprised at the value of the meals being quite affordable and comparable to any local restaurant. The view is a fabulous and service was excellent. We will definitely come back here to eat again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keenan's at the Pier also viewed

 

Been to Keenan's at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keenan's at the Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.