We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful setting, excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keenan's at the Pier

Keenan's at the Pier
804 10th Street, The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, Bellingham, WA
360.392.5510
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
New York, NY
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delightful setting, excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went with four other friends --- had outstanding steelhead trout (the fish special that day) but all of us were really pleased with the meal and the overall experience. The manager, the chef and the wait staff all stopped by to be sure we were enjoying ourselves. Reservatoins a "must" at this increasingly popular place. The view of Bellingham Bay and the islands is unobstructed and just adds to the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    30
    15
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Keen on Keenan's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I recently had lunch at this beautiful restaurant located in the Chrysalis Hotel in Bellingham. We started with a glass of wine from their small but serviceable wine list while we took in the gorgeous bay view. My wife raved about the Caesar salad made with fresh greens, thinly sliced Parmesan cheese, pine nuts and a light and refreshing dressing. She also enjoyed a half Reuben sandwich and crispy thinly cut fries. But the real star of the show was my entree of sesame crusted halibut served with perfectly sauteed broccolini and rice, and a to-die-for ponzu sauce. The meal was topped off with a dreamy apple tart with caramel sauce and vanilla ice cream. Do yourself a favor and book a reservation at this gem on the bay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“Not so hot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had dinner last night @ Keenans and was very dissapointed. The service was very slow and indifferent... even had to wait 20 mins for cocktails. Reservation was for 7:15 didn't finish service til 10. I ordered the Wilted spinach salad and enjoyed it. Thbriaed short rib was another story however. Very small portion, flavorless sauce, soggy vegatbles and the mushroom bread pudding was burned and virtually inedible. Dinner partners found the Halibut overcooked, and I have never seen a thinner cut New York Steak. Over-priced; overcooked and underserved.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was a good find! Restaurant is not large but makes the most of the water view with large windows. They also have a small bar. The server was very friendly. Menu items are extremely reasonably priced and there's a good variety as well. We will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fish & Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my first visit here and we were not disappointed. The fish & chips were done to perfection with NO GREASY food at all, Nice! The chef came by the table and asked how everything was and I stated "Great" but next time I may try the burger since everything was so good. He said "You will love it" now I have to try it.
Great Service, Great food, Great hospitality and we will return. THANKS!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keenan's at the Pier also viewed

 

Been to Keenan's at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keenan's at the Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.