We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old warbirds that still fly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Flight Museum

Heritage Flight Museum
4165 Mitchell Way, Bellingham, WA 98226
(360) 733-4422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Old warbirds that still fly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a superb opportunity to see the old warbirds. These planes are still flown by local pilots. The pilots are often present and happy to tell you all about the planes in the Museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Small collection, but great, personable, and knowledgable guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having recently visited both the Museum of Flight in Seattle and the Heritage Flight Collection in Everett, we weren't expecting much from this smaller museum in Bellingham. We were very pleasantly surprised. The front room boasted war memorabilia with personal stories and touches that made it a pleasure to explore. Then we began our actual tour. We were paired with a tour guide who probably spent at least 2 hours with us, giving us detailed information about each plane, letting us take our time to ask questions and take pictures, and even letting us climb up on the wing for some of the planes so we could see inside the cockpit.

As if that wasn't enough, we then got to go behind the scenes to the garage in a separate building to meeting two mechanics who were working on replica planes. They stopped what they were doing and spent about an hour with us, talking about what went into making the planes, showing us pictures from where one of the planes had flipped and the resulting damage, talking about the strengths and weaknesses, etc.

For all that the other museums had more to offer in the way of quantity, Heritage Flight Museum was by far my favorite in terms of quality - I've never gotten so much information and such an up close view of these types of aircrafts. $5 a person is such a steal we felt guilty and left extra money on the way out. Looking forward to going back for a fly day. :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“History you can touch . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

the flight museum is a small treasure located next to bellingham's international airport. for anyone interested in history - you will find much to study and fascinate you here. if you are fortunate enough to visit when there is a fly-in with historic planes coming in from other parts of the country, it's something you will never forget.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham, wa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun on the fly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family has been here several times. It's fun when they have the old planes taking off and landing. Look on their website to see special event dates throughout the year. They ask for a donation which is a cheap family outing. There are several rooms including a large room with actual planes and items for the kids to look at and touch. Fun stop at least once or twice per year.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“If you're into vintage aircraft, this is worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

For a small-town flight museum, this place was more impressive than I expected. Founded in 1996 by Apollo 8 astronaut Maj. General Bill Anders, the museum hosts a collection of artifacts from WWII, Korea, Vietnam, and the Gulf War. But what I really enjoyed was the up-close look and touch of some vintage aircraft, all in flyable condition.

You can view the full collection on their website - http://www.heritageflight.org/content/ - under the "collections" menu. Unfortunately, it is rare that the entire collection is there at one time. Many of the aircraft travel to various airshows in the region, but at any one time, you can catch some very impressive machines at the hanger. Also, the hanger is not huge, so some of the planes are stored in adjacent facilities.

On our trip, we saw the P51 - Mustang, the PT19 - Cornell, the PT13 - Stearman, the TD6 - Texan, the O2 - Skymaster, the H16 - Souix (MASH Chopper), just to name a few.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Flight Museum also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Flight Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Flight Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.