We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee

Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee
1101 Harris Ave, Bellingham, WA 98225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 384 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stopped in for iced coffee to beat the heat. Have been going to Tony's, albeit infrequently, since I was an undergrad in the mid 90's. Always pleasant service, and decent atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband had tried this place for breakfast a few months ago and he said it was very good.

I certainly disagree based on my experience. I didn't see much on their menu that appealed to me so I ordered a small glass of orange juice and 1 egg with sausage, potatoes and English muffin. The best part of my meal was the English muffin and Orange juice. The sausage had a really funny taste to it and for the potatoes they fry up left over red skin potatoes. The potatoes were not crisp but instead were a mushy cool mess that tasted like the potatoes were left over from a week ago. UGH. The cutlery should be thrown out. It is very thin tin on the fork, the tines were not even and knife and I could not even cut the egg white with my fork. I've used plastic cutlery that was better than what they supply.

Service was okay. It certainly wasn't a warm hospitable place to have breakfast. My husband had oatmeal and a waffle. He asked if he could have one brought before the other and the waitress acted like he was really asking for the moon and the stars. How difficult is it to order one item wait until the first item is served and then place the order for the second item. Apparently it is a real chore for this particular waitress.

I'll definitely not be returning to Harris Avenue Cafe. Prices are on the high side for a diner that does not treat you well and serves poor food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Down-home cooking at its best. Very popular with locals and visitors so get there early. Had an outstanding mushroom omelet with drop-dead delicious hash browns. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Coffee is great, fun place to people watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We didn't have breakfast next door but the coffee was great and worth the few minutes it took to prepare. This is obviously a popular spot for locals and tourists alike. I had a pumpkin cake which was moist and flavourful!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly waitress, amazing OJ and tasty food! Great menu options especially for breakfast and it's such a cute old fashioned cozy restaurant. Would definitely come back to this restaurant in Fairhaven next time I'm in Bellingham for the friendly service, cheap prices and decent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.