We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brew House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kulshan Brewing Company

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kulshan Brewing Company
2238 James St, Bellingham, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Brew House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

There beer is absolutely fantastic and the staff is nice, friendly and very customer orientated. If you are in the area and want a nice beer and relax and enjoy this is the spot!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    11
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Concept and Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Whoever thought of this type of business is brilliant. This place is all about beer. That is their specialty and that is what they offer. From what I've seen they have a booming business and I'm not surprised. I'm more of a wine drinker but I do like an occasional beer, especially in the summer. I've been here twice now - both times to meet up with friends at their suggestion. The second time I was here I really took notice. Folks come in to sit down and have a beer and/or to fill up growlers to take home. There are different food trucks that seem to take turns parking outside and they offer good food. There is also at least one local restaurant (Avenue Bread) that delivers. I've seen folks with pizza too - not sure if they bring it or if it's delivered as well. The building is kind of small but in good weather they also have outdoor seating. The last time I was there I noticed a small bus stopping to pick up and let off people - looked like maybe college students. How smart is that - give young people a way to be transported directly to a brewing company? No drinking and driving which is obviously in the best interest of all. Love this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great new brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Their IPA was great. I really liked that they had a family friendly area as well as a bar. They have different food trucks there each day. Very clever idea. Had a couple beers and took a growler home with us.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Didn't realize this was here - saw it on our way to Trader Joe's and decided to check it out. Great ambiance. The beers were tasty - only $6 to try them all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Nice addition a great local beer scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Weekday lunch. The six beer sampler is great value at $6. The beers were all good (PA, D-IPA, IPA, Red Ale, Porter, Fresh Hope Pale Ale) but not exceptional. My fave was probably the Double IPA which isn't usually a style I love. Friendly attentive service. Wish there were more seats at the bar inside. Nice to sit outside on wooden picnic tables and eat from the adjacent food cart. Too bad the outside seating is right beside the road. The location next to Trader Joes is pretty handy for us Canadian Cheese/Milk Piranhas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kulshan Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Kulshan Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kulshan Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.