We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a world of mediocrity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homeskillet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Homeskillet
521 Kentucky, Bellingham, WA 98225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Oasis in a world of mediocrity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

At Homeskillet, the food's inventive, the menu's a blast to read and the room is vividly, tropical-bird colorful.

Actually, so is the outside--wildly colorful, that is, and you don't have to get any further than the parking lot with the EAT sign on the sidewalk and the vintage Mini Cooper parked by the front door to know that you're about to experience something original.

The menu caters to meatheads and vegetarians alike. Lots of options on both sides of the aisle, some that come in skillets and some that don't, and many with monikers like Hot Green Mess that deserve to be tried for name alone. In particular consider anything with Kirb's pulled pork or the chorizo gravy. Note that all the buns and breads are Breadfarm breads--this is a greasy spoon, but it's a DELUXE greasy spoon!

It's truly a gem, a one-of-a-kind little greasy spoon with an exuberantly happy vibe--Bellingham is so lucky that Kirby and his wife decided to live here and open this quirky, wonderful little restaurant.

Only open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    19
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden gem! Caution: Small”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were looking for a new place to try in Bellingham for breakfast. A quick review of TripAdvisor showed Homeskillet ranked #10 of 381 restaurants in Bellingham, we were sure this was a good sign and went.

They admit on their website that they are small, and it's true! Very cozy. The place has been well thought out (a MUST when you are this small), and they were busy! We took heed and arrived early. There were no lineups when we arrived, but people were lined up out the door when we left. And with good reason!

The food is fresh and delicious! They have a selection of home made BBQ / hot sauces. I recommend that you try them! The one I tried had a picture of their dog Jack on it. It was excellent.

I had the BARNYARD: Chicken Fried steak topped with Ham, bacon, fried egg, taters, and I opted for the Chorizo gravy. Absolutely fantastic! There were two perfectly cooked eggs, four slices of ham, and three full slices of bacon on top of a great Chicken Fried Steak! The taters were nice and crispy, and the chorizo gravy was to die for.

My wife had the meaty veggie skillet. True to its word, it was served in a Lodge cast iron skillet, and was heaped with awesome goodness!

Suffice it to say that if you leave this establishment hungry it is your own fault!

And the coffee... better than Starbucks, and without the designer coffee price tag either!

Excellent breakfast! This is now on our list of places to go, and we will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delish pulled pork hash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I have been here a couple times and never disappointed. This place is small, and don't expect to go in on a weekend without a wait. The largest group they can seat is probably 5 and that's pushing it. The food is wonderful, don't leave without trying the pulled pork hash and house made bbq sauces. Drip coffee was the best I've had in awhile without going to an overpriced coffee shop.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“smashed tater tots and pulled pork........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

combined with spices of a breakfast nature, heated correctly and served in a quantity slightly over what would be necessary at home - and GOOD it was.
Sunday morning is a buzz but the plates come in natural time along with the coffee refills.
Just wish this menu was on a table 275 miles closer to me.
Warning: if clowns, LOTS of clowns, wig you out you may want to use a nearby restroom. LOTS of Clowns!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Total surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This funky little place is amazing. Three of us ate breakfast there and it was heavenly. The portions are huge. I tasted all three entrees and they were great. The best was the Homeskillet Poutine. This was something I would not have ordered but was out of this world flavor wise. The pulled pork Tater Tot Hash and eggs tasted amazing also. The Cure Burrito had the choice of three gravies. I chose the pork green chili. It was delish! I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homeskillet also viewed

 

Been to Homeskillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homeskillet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.