We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average museum did NOT stand up to name.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spark Museum of Electrical Invention

Spark Museum of Electrical Invention
1312 Bay St, Bellingham, WA (Formerly American Museum of Radio and Electricity)
+1 360-788-3886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 57 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Spark Museum of Electrical Invention offers an exciting and educational experience for audiences of all ages. Compelling, interactive exhibits spanning four centuries of scientific achievement and cultural heritage are featured in a world-class collection of unique objects including the giant "MegaZapper" Tesla Coil which produces nine-foot lightning bolts! The Spark Museum displays the inventions and innovations that changed the course of human history.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average museum did NOT stand up to name.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

I was in Bellingham to drop my daughter of at the Western Washington University marketing camp. At me, my daughter, and my mom were there, we wanted to explore local museums. The Watcom Museum of Art was AMAZING! We had heard that Sparks was great and so amusing, it wasn't. The show was average, but the things on display we're boring and it was hard to find out what they meant. It took us about 30 minutes to get through and we were ready to leave.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    20
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectatons -- must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This museum has to be a one of a kind. Unexpected delight right n the middle of downtown. We could have spent a couple hours if we'd planned. Be sure to see the "mega zapper" show

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“You have to visit it to believe it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Awesome, awesome place to visit! Everything you could ever want to see and know about electricity. Edison's original light bulb, the RCA dog, a fantastic ham radio collection and a giant Tesla coil! Lots and lots of history in a relatively small space. Easy to be overwhelmed so you go see what you want to see.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
“Fantastic and kid friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We visited SPARK on a Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed the Mega Zapper! We headed upstairs afterwards to the education center where the kids experimented with magnets, old telephones, a typewriter and lots of other neat gadgets. The kids especially enjoyed the static lab where they got to make sparks and see their hair stand on end. This museum encourages their patrons to interact with their exhibits. A great place to visit for the young and old!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Electrifying!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A great museum to learn about all manner of our electrical history. It takes you from Franklin through today.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spark Museum of Electrical Invention also viewed

 

Been to Spark Museum of Electrical Invention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spark Museum of Electrical Invention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.