We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for a retro nerd, but stops too early” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spark Museum of Electrical Invention

Spark Museum of Electrical Invention
1312 Bay St, Bellingham, WA (Formerly American Museum of Radio and Electricity)
+1 360-788-3886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 32 Attractions in Bellingham
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Spark Museum of Electrical Invention offers an exciting and educational experience for audiences of all ages. Compelling, interactive exhibits spanning four centuries of scientific achievement and cultural heritage are featured in a world-class collection of unique objects including the giant "MegaZapper" Tesla Coil which produces nine-foot lightning bolts! The Spark Museum displays the inventions and innovations that changed the course of human history.
Zurich
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fun for a retro nerd, but stops too early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I liked seeing the static electricity machines, the old tubes and tube radios, etc. We went to the demo which was a bit slow (and full of scientific disinformation, very strange, it also uses old EE terms that were misunderstood by the audience, e.g. "the electricity flows over my body" which makes it sound like water being deflected rather than current conducted).
There is nothing about the transition from tubes to transistors (even what a transistor is) to ICs. Storage stops at Leyden jars and batteries.
So, between the science disinformation and ending the story in 1920s, it's a very poor instructional musuem.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carnation, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We were interested and accidently entered this museum 10 minutes before a showing of their coils. The museum was cool (to me, a Tesla fan already) and had some really neat stuff (Edison's first bilb, Vandergraff generator) but the coil demonstration is not to be missed. If you like lightning'you'll enjoy. If you are a radio/rlectro fan this is Disneyland.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Plenty to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Spark Museum used to be the old Radio Museum but boy, with the full remodel, it's definitely a lot more fun. For an additional fee you can be shut into a faraday cage and have a massive bolt of electricity fired toward you: a friend and I did this and it was fascinating, a bit of an adrenalin rush and VERY LOUD. The docents were well-informed and more than happy to share information. They played various recording devices for us from Edison wax cylinders and pierced metal disks to the first hi-fi set. The collection of home radio cases is a lesson in the history of home decoration, wartime thrift and the taste of the average person down the years. There is a small set showcasing the first telegraphs and incidentally the Titanic. They also have a Theremin you can play. It's a bizarre instrument and the kids adored the crazy sounds it makes. There is a somewhat static set piece that explains Franklin and electricity but it moves on quickly with well-lit cases of collected radio gear from ages past. One entire stair wall is nothing but tubes. A voice-receptive oscilloscope was set up for anyone wanting to see their voice make wave forms, which was also popular with kids. Overall, it's a great museum as long as you enjoy museums (younger kids might be bored with the main floor and people with no real interest in history or technical concerns will probably be bored too.)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A fascinating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A really amazing place. The docents are very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, willing to spend a lot of time with you guiding you through rooms of fascinating inventions and technology. You can kind of feel it's a labor of love. Definitely worth it. My son and I will be back.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have to admit I wasn't expecting much, maybe a few old radios but I was amazed by the collection and by the docents' sharing of knowledge. There'r room after room of fascinating electrical appliances and inventions, some great educational displays and community radio station in the back. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spark Museum of Electrical Invention also viewed

 

Been to Spark Museum of Electrical Invention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spark Museum of Electrical Invention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.