We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See the MegaZapper show!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spark Museum of Electrical Invention

Spark Museum of Electrical Invention
1312 Bay St, Bellingham, WA (Formerly American Museum of Radio and Electricity)
+1 360-788-3886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Spark Museum of Electrical Invention offers an exciting and educational experience for audiences of all ages. Compelling, interactive exhibits spanning four centuries of scientific achievement and cultural heritage are featured in a world-class collection of unique objects including the giant "MegaZapper" Tesla Coil which produces nine-foot lightning bolts! The Spark Museum displays the inventions and innovations that changed the course of human history.
Bellingham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“See the MegaZapper show!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I are local and we finally decided to go check out this museum. There is a little room with some hands-on experiment type stuff in it, that was pretty fun. Otherwise, some of the other things get a slightly boring. We did flag down an employee to show us how the old phonographs worked. I highly recommend seeing the MegaZapper show, it's very entertaining and educational. My husband paid extra to go inside the cage o be zapped. Very exciting!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good family activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

One does not have to be super interested in science to enjoy and learn from this interesting little museum. All three generations of my family enjoyed our visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
161 attraction reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
“A fun experience but don't go without seeing the show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a fun little museum that focuses on electricity and its history. Most of the exhibits are pretty dry and lack interactivity. But there is a room where kids can rub plastic sticks with fur and discover static electricity and in which docents make sparks and demonstrate stuff. Upstairs is a workshop area, with a separate admission, that is pretty much non-electric but in which the kids we were with (ages 9 an 10) had lots of fun.

However, the high spot of the place is the MegaZapper Show in which you get to witness huge sparks being made and light bulbs lighting up with no wires connected. In the finale your mad-scientist host withstands 4 million volts generated by the Zapper. Our grandsons enjoyed the show but it is very loud at times and it took them pretty close to the edge of what they could tolerate. Fortunately, when it was over they could run back upstairs to play!

In summary, I definitely wouldn't pay to go here unless I planned to go to the show. With the show it is a fun afternoon's entertainment couple with some good science. All the docents are knowledgeable and do a good job of explaining what they are demonstrating.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't Miss the MegaZapper Show on the Weekends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you can make it on the weekend don't miss the MegaZapper show. The hands on exhibits and show was fun for the kids. The staff was very helpful in setting expectations on noise levels during the show and making sure the kids were ready for a dark room full of loud noises and flashing bolts of electricity. It is an exciting show from a lot of people passionate about the history and science behind electricity.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A friend and I visited here on a weekend trip and it was great! Jim walked us through the whole museum showing us fascinating machines and giving us information about history that are best told rather than read. There was lots to see and hands on sections that were a lot of fun. Great value and a must see for Bellingham. Also, they air old time radio on 102.3 KMRE radio right from the museum.
We will come back and watch the spark show only played on Saturdays and Sunday.
Ps we are not old.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spark Museum of Electrical Invention also viewed

 

Been to Spark Museum of Electrical Invention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spark Museum of Electrical Invention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Spark Museum of Electrical Invention to your Saves list