We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss the MegaZapper Show on the Weekends!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spark Museum of Electrical Invention

Spark Museum of Electrical Invention
1312 Bay St, Bellingham, WA (Formerly American Museum of Radio and Electricity)
+1 360-788-3886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Spark Museum of Electrical Invention offers an exciting and educational experience for audiences of all ages. Compelling, interactive exhibits spanning four centuries of scientific achievement and cultural heritage are featured in a world-class collection of unique objects including the giant "MegaZapper" Tesla Coil which produces nine-foot lightning bolts! The Spark Museum displays the inventions and innovations that changed the course of human history.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't Miss the MegaZapper Show on the Weekends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you can make it on the weekend don't miss the MegaZapper show. The hands on exhibits and show was fun for the kids. The staff was very helpful in setting expectations on noise levels during the show and making sure the kids were ready for a dark room full of loud noises and flashing bolts of electricity. It is an exciting show from a lot of people passionate about the history and science behind electricity.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    9
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A friend and I visited here on a weekend trip and it was great! Jim walked us through the whole museum showing us fascinating machines and giving us information about history that are best told rather than read. There was lots to see and hands on sections that were a lot of fun. Great value and a must see for Bellingham. Also, they air old time radio on 102.3 KMRE radio right from the museum.
We will come back and watch the spark show only played on Saturdays and Sunday.
Ps we are not old.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mad scientist mecca!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Alright, I have to admit, you dont actually have to be a mad scientist to enjoy this place. This fully interactive hands-on museum will delight everyone of all ages. We spent a good four hours and could have spent more. My advice is to take advantage of everything the musuem has to offer, make a day of it and don't rush. Make sure you sign up for the workshop, and megazapper show' you wont be dissapointed. Places like this are very rare, so savour your experience, ask the staff questions and they will amaze you with their knowledge and delight you with cool demonstrations. If you go, dont be shy! I would suggest going a few hours before the show, so that you have a chance to explore before it gets busy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a genius to enjoy this great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I went to visit this little museum in Bellingham and had a great time. Make sure you take time to see the electrical show with the Tesla coil. Very cool and the volunteers there are great!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's fun and there are many interesting and beautiful pieces of electricity's history. We wish we could have gotten into the Faraday cage, but that only happens on weekends--so we'll have to come back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spark Museum of Electrical Invention also viewed

 

Been to Spark Museum of Electrical Invention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spark Museum of Electrical Invention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Spark Museum of Electrical Invention to your Saves list