We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mad scientist mecca!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spark Museum of Electrical Invention

Spark Museum of Electrical Invention
1312 Bay St, Bellingham, WA (Formerly American Museum of Radio and Electricity)
+1 360-788-3886
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 32 Attractions in Bellingham
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Spark Museum of Electrical Invention offers an exciting and educational experience for audiences of all ages. Compelling, interactive exhibits spanning four centuries of scientific achievement and cultural heritage are featured in a world-class collection of unique objects including the giant "MegaZapper" Tesla Coil which produces nine-foot lightning bolts! The Spark Museum displays the inventions and innovations that changed the course of human history.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mad scientist mecca!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Alright, I have to admit, you dont actually have to be a mad scientist to enjoy this place. This fully interactive hands-on museum will delight everyone of all ages. We spent a good four hours and could have spent more. My advice is to take advantage of everything the musuem has to offer, make a day of it and don't rush. Make sure you sign up for the workshop, and megazapper show' you wont be dissapointed. Places like this are very rare, so savour your experience, ask the staff questions and they will amaze you with their knowledge and delight you with cool demonstrations. If you go, dont be shy! I would suggest going a few hours before the show, so that you have a chance to explore before it gets busy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a genius to enjoy this great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I went to visit this little museum in Bellingham and had a great time. Make sure you take time to see the electrical show with the Tesla coil. Very cool and the volunteers there are great!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's fun and there are many interesting and beautiful pieces of electricity's history. We wish we could have gotten into the Faraday cage, but that only happens on weekends--so we'll have to come back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bigger than it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I'm in the electrical industry, so I'm biased, but I thought this was a great attraction. The collections of old radios and TVs brought back memories of my childhood - I guess I'm getting old. Much of the museum is static displays, so it may not appeal to kids, but the volunteer docents were great at showing off the exhibits. Like any museum, there were "please don't touch" signs, but I was impressed at the number of "touching OK" displays.
I was quite taken by the gramophones and how they filled the room with sound.
Overall, a pleasant way to spend a rainy afternoon

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Who doesn't like to play with theremins?!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This museum gives visitors a chance to try old electric inventions out for themselves, hands-on, from old telephones to Morse code and theremins! It is fun to see the progression in every day communication.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spark Museum of Electrical Invention also viewed

 

Been to Spark Museum of Electrical Invention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spark Museum of Electrical Invention, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.