We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer? Yes, but the food is fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archer Ale House

Archer Ale House
1212 Tenth Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
+1 360-647-7002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 394 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Established in 1992, we are an English style pub located in the historic Fairhaven district of Bellingham. We feature a rotating draught selection of import & craft beer with an extensive bottle list. We serve fresh, seasonally inspired cocktails & over 100 fine whiskeys. Our full menu includes upscale pub style food such as Shepherd's Pie & Pot Pie as well as house ground natural Painted Hills burgers, steaks, fresh fish & fresh local oysters. Our menu is made in house & features locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. We offer a weekly trivia night, steel-tip darts, local & national sporting events, brewers & distillers nights/pairing dinners & a variety of board games
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beer? Yes, but the food is fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

OK, this is an Ale House so be prepared for loud and crowded. It really is a Bellingham gem. It's "down stairs" in Fairhaven, so you have to look for it. The food is fresh, delicious and worth any wait. If the trout (stuffed) is on the menu, get it! I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WA & HI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cheers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This place reminded me of the great neighborhood Cheers.....for those of you that remember the show. This place was fun and cozy and had a great neighborhood feel to it. A place where you could just hang out and meet friends and have a good time. The food/brews/desserts were excellent. The servers were awesome! Fun & friendly. Give this place a try! Its downstairs......

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A surprising authentic pub in Fairhaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

First off, you go into a basement- loved it. Then, the selection of ales was better than we expected. The first night we actually had a Fullers. However, then they changed to a local selection. But, there were some great options. We had some happy hour snacks and enjoyed the quality and taste. We were there in Bellingham 2 nights and were there both nights. If we lived here it would be our local.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gets Busy on Sunday Night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Walked in just before Trivia Night started on Sunday at 7pm. Place was packed and noisy, but fun and it seems like a lot of people were doing well and winning beers at trivia. I agree the prices are a bit on the expensive side but the service was good and the food exceptional. I'd probably enjoy going there on a more calmer evening, like a week night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Salmon You Won't Want to Share !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Before leaving Archers, I personally told the chefs, " I'm 50 years old, a native
of Bellingham and have tasted plenty of salmon in my life. Theirs is the BEST I have ever
had!" It is pistachio crusted and is moist, flavorful and unique. Out of the goodness of my
heart, I let the others in my party each try a bite. Though they each liked what they ordered,
they loved mine. My friends promised they're ordering their own salmon next time. It's only
fair that I get to take a bite of each of theirs!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archer Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Archer Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archer Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.