We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Archer Ale House

The Archer Ale House
1212 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
+1 360-647-7002
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 414 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: American, Pub, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Established in 1992, we are an English style pub located in the historic Fairhaven district of Bellingham. We feature a rotating draught selection of import & craft beer with an extensive bottle list. We serve fresh, seasonally inspired cocktails & over 100 fine whiskeys. Our full menu includes upscale pub style food such as Shepherd's Pie & Pot Pie as well as house ground natural Painted Hills burgers, steaks, fresh fish & fresh local oysters. Our menu is made in house & features locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. We offer a weekly trivia night, steel-tip darts, local & national sporting events, brewers & distillers nights/pairing dinners & a variety of board games
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really cool pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great beer selection and delicious potato based nachos. Serving staff were freindly and attentive. Will definitely be back when we return to Fairhaven

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“More reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place needs more reviews for how awesome it is. I am not currently living in Bellingham but when I was this was the spot to be at if you want a good time with your friends but not the club scene. Get your friends together and go hangout here for some great beer and fun activities, perhaps go to trivia night or otherwise just play some darts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HungryTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We met family members here after the flight to, and the drive from Vancouver. I was looking forward to any kind of beer, but didn't expect to get a bunch of free testers before finally settling on a Stone IPA. They carry a vast array of beauty beers that change on a regular basis.Thankfully there is NO Bud Lite or Schlitz.
I didn't expect much from the menu, but again I was wrong. Our party had outstanding salads, fresh ling cod, shepherds pie, great steak, pulled pork and I ordered a well done burger & got exactly what I ordered, a dry chunk of meat between a bun. My bad.
Last but not least there was Alicia. If this woman doesn't own the place, she sure works like she does. She is knowledgable, polite, courteous and patient. I love this bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank solodivecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Archer hit the target!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had gone by the ale house on previous trips to Fairhaven but had never ventured down the stairs to this basement establishment. We decided to go just for a beer and after seeing the menu and speaking with the server, decided to order food. It was absolutely wonderful. The server, Alicia was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. I had the blackened chicken sandwich and my wife the BLTD (with pork belly and duck confit). We each had a half of the others sandwich and loved them both. They make their own breads on premises and cure their own meats. Alicia seemed genuinely appreciative of our comments about the food and said she would inform the chef who would be delighted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“On of the best of Fairhaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great food, unexpectedly so. Service is good, it's a bar and not a lot of seating, so sometimes we pass. But the food and drink are great. Very nice people too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Archer Ale House also viewed

 

Been to The Archer Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing