We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Archer Ale House

Archer Ale House
1212 10th St., Bellingham, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: British
Description: Shows up on Yelp and other food review/info sites. An English-style tavern located in the historic Fairhaven district of Bellingham, WA.
Restaurant details
Description: Shows up on Yelp and other food review/info sites. An English-style tavern located in the historic Fairhaven district of Bellingham, WA.
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really cool pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great beer selection and delicious potato based nachos. Serving staff were freindly and attentive. Will definitely be back when we return to Fairhaven

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    11
    9
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“More reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place needs more reviews for how awesome it is. I am not currently living in Bellingham but when I was this was the spot to be at if you want a good time with your friends but not the club scene. Get your friends together and go hangout here for some great beer and fun activities, perhaps go to trivia night or otherwise just play some darts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We met family members here after the flight to, and the drive from Vancouver. I was looking forward to any kind of beer, but didn't expect to get a bunch of free testers before finally settling on a Stone IPA. They carry a vast array of beauty beers that change on a regular basis.Thankfully there is NO Bud Lite or Schlitz.
I didn't expect much from the menu, but again I was wrong. Our party had outstanding salads, fresh ling cod, shepherds pie, great steak, pulled pork and I ordered a well done burger & got exactly what I ordered, a dry chunk of meat between a bun. My bad.
Last but not least there was Alicia. If this woman doesn't own the place, she sure works like she does. She is knowledgable, polite, courteous and patient. I love this bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This Archer hit the target!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had gone by the ale house on previous trips to Fairhaven but had never ventured down the stairs to this basement establishment. We decided to go just for a beer and after seeing the menu and speaking with the server, decided to order food. It was absolutely wonderful. The server, Alicia was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. I had the blackened chicken sandwich and my wife the BLTD (with pork belly and duck confit). We each had a half of the others sandwich and loved them both. They make their own breads on premises and cure their own meats. Alicia seemed genuinely appreciative of our comments about the food and said she would inform the chef who would be delighted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“On of the best of Fairhaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great food, unexpectedly so. Service is good, it's a bar and not a lot of seating, so sometimes we pass. But the food and drink are great. Very nice people too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archer Ale House also viewed

 

Been to Archer Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archer Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.