We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Bar & Grill

Lighthouse Bar & Grill
One Bellwether Way, Hotel Bellwether, Bellingham, WA 98225
+1 360-392-3200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 392 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Lighthouse is the Bellwether Hotel Restaurant. Competition from nearby restaurants make it hard to stand out but I commend it for a quiet, quality dining experieince

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskerry, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding view, poor service, poor food. Too bad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been here several times and, not being quick learners, have been repeatedly disappointed in the service, especially in the bar. We kept hearing one of the bartenders gripe about fellow workers, gripe about customers and then gripe about tips. Seems like he should have seen that one coming. We love the location and watching the boats come and go, so it's too bad that we finally came to the realization that it's just not worth it. We will not be going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferndale, wa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a Very Happy Hour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The last time we were at the Hotel Bellwether was about five years ago for my wife's birthday and the food and service were terrible. We recently went to the Dakota Creek Wine Dinner at the hotel and spoke with Chef Jordan who recently took over Chef duties at the hotel. The food was very good and it seemed as if things had changed. We noticed they had a new happy hour menu on their website, so we decided to give it a try. I'm being very generous with my rating since the hotel has one of the best views in Bellingham. It was all downhill from there. We were seated at a table on the outdoor patio and were greeted by music blasting from the sound system. It was clearly on for the enjoyment of the staff and not the patrons. Sure we could have asked for it to be turned down, but being in a high-end hotel it should not be my job to advise them on what the ambiance should be. A large party had just left before we arrived and the tables were not cleared for twenty minutes. We ordered drinks and looked at the menu, but the music was so annoying we quickly finished our drinks and left without trying the food. All in all not a great experience for a "luxury hotel". If you are in the area head over to Anthony's for a great happy hour.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Superb food, service, setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We often eat lunch here and have been very pleased with the food, especially the salmon burger, fish tacos and chowder. Recently, we had dinner with friends and were similarly pleased.

The setting is the best in Bellingham, with stunning views across the bay and the quiet dining room is great for quiet conversations. Outdoor dining is also available.

Some in Our party had the wild salmon, which was served on an interesting crunchy bed of seaweed. It was perfectly done--medium rare--and was a good-sized portion. The real star at the table was the cod en croute, served in phyllo dough with a sublime tomato mix. This was a dish that could hold its own in New York or San Francisco. Desserts were not as imaginative, but the cobbler and flourless chocolate were perfectly satisfying.

There is a decent selection of well-priced wines by the glass and bottle, with some interesting Northwest choices.

Service was friendly without being cloying--and we appreciated that our server was well-informed on the gluten- and dairy-free options on the menu.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went there 3 times in one day for all our meals (and drinks). Wonderful staff, wonderful lounge. Please go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.