We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B to get away too and decompress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viewmont Manor

Save Saved
You added Viewmont Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Viewmont Manor
1031 38th Street, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great B and B to get away too and decompress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Getting away from everything for a few relaxing days was worth it. Staying at Viewmont Manor definitely helped. My wife and I stayed August 11th and 12th. The weather was perfect-mid to upper 70's-which was a change compared to where we live where it has been in the low to mid 90's for the past month and half. The view out the front to see and smell the ocean to the back yard with the amazing gardens to the excellent breakfasts to the comfortable rooms was what was needed to decompress from the day to day stress. Betty also gave us very good suggestions as to where to have dinner out as well as things to do and see. We spent one late afternoon/early evening relaxing in the back yard sipping wine and enjoying the sunny weather and the beautiful gardens. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I was so glad you two made it to Bellingham for a well-deserved rest and recreation...I hope your puppy survived your absence. And I am especially glad your dear wife waited all those years for you. You are a sweet, sweet couple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Viewmont Manor was the perfect place for my son and I to stay when we visited the campus of Western Washington University. Ideally located in a quiet area but close to everything and more economical than many of the hotel options I looked into. On top of that, Betty and her home are inviting and the environment comfortable and relaxing. The garden outside and the sitting area upstairs were perfect places to relax and read the two books I found in her library and managed to finish in two days! Breakfast was elaborate and delicious.The room was wonderful. I can't imagiine staying anywhere else!
Thank you
Bridget

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I keep hoping that your son will choose WWU so that you will come visit me (and him, of course) often. I loved our conversation about nursing and health care and the advance of all things medical. It gave me great hope for the future. Please come again! Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B and highly recommend it. Charming place, comfortable accommodations, and super-friendly hostess Betty. She is a master gardener, because the gardens are just tremendous. The view from the hilltop setting is great; we enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine at one of the large windows. The little library nook is lovely too. Nothing was lacking, and we will stay here again if/when we return to Bellingham.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Do come again. We loved having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for a single night before boarding a sailboat charter in Bellingham. The first thing we did was haul out all our gear to organize it in the beautiful common room overlooking the bay. That was fine with Betty Cribbs our intrepid hostess. When Betty asked us our breakfast preferences we announced that one of us was vegan. She responded the next morning with Irish groats perfectly cooked and with an array of toppings that would put a top restaurant to shame. He was in heaven and the rest of us indulged in her other wonderful breakfast offerings as well. To say that Betty will go out of her way to please her guests is an understatement and she never makes you feel that she is doing you a favor. Oh, yes. the rooms are lovely and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden have little Juliette balconies and are very quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
The four of you were great fun. I am still jealous of your week in the San Juans...wish I could have tagged along. And your laundry bag is waiting for you in the entry way. I am hoping you'll return for it someday. Thanks for writing such kind words. (Vegans are always welcome because I always have oat groats on hand!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped in Bellingham on our road trip to Seattle and had a very nice stay at this beautifully located B&B. The room was very comfortable and clean and Betty is a super nice and welcoming hostess. Our breakfast was excellent and even before breakfast Betty served fresh coffee and delicious scones right next to our room. We had a wonderful stay at Viewmont Manor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I am always so delighted to hear that my guests had a nice stay, and liked my scones! Come back any time for more! Thanks for taking the time to write...and go visit the Millenium park for me! Thanks! Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way down the west coast. I wish we'd stayed longer.
Betty is a fabulous host, so caring and great fun. Her house is clearly one of family, friendship and great cooking! Breakfast was excellent, all home made.
Facilities are perfect. Lovely room overlooking the garden. Tea, coffee and water right by your room. Betty makes fresh scones and cookies for guests to have with their drinks.
Fairhaven and Bellingham are lovely places to explore.
I left feeling very rested.
Thanks for a wonderful stay. I hope to see you again Betty.
Kate Roberts

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Kate: You allowed my nieces to Plait your Hair...how much more perfect a guest could an innkeeper ask for! I can only sit and wait for your next visit. I'll keep the lights on. Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A bit of a trek up hill, but it is worth it. Beautiful park setting with comfortable chairs inside and outside. You will love the solitude. Betty will greet you with a hug, as she would any family member. You aren't going to strangers, you are coming home. Wake up to a terrific breakfast and coffee brewing. We only stayed one day.......this time.

Room Tip: The corner room has windows on two sides for a fabulous cross breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
For being an old car guy you sure are young! You and your wife made such a marvelous addition to my weekend in the back yard. I truly hope you will come again soon. (and now that I know who you are, I'll keep more of my secrets to myself!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viewmont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmont Manor

Address: 1031 38th Street, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely home overlooking Bellingham Bay awaits your arrival. Each room looks out over our garden from its own private balcony. Scones and coffee are available every morning right outside your bedroom door. A full breakfast is later served, and where it is served is entirely your choice: in your room, right outside your door in the guest quarters, or in our dining room downstairs. We have a cozy library stocked with books for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your Viewmont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viewmont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.