We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B - we will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viewmont Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Viewmont Manor to your Saves list
Viewmont Manor
1031 38th Street, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B - we will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for three nights at Viewmont Manor during a visit to Western Washington University, and are so glad we found this B&B. Betty, the owner, was welcoming and a terrific host. Each morning, we awoke to fresh scones and hot coffee or tea outside our room. Then, Betty would prepare a wonderful hot breakfast, taking into consideration our meal requests and schedule. Two mornings, we had to be at WWU at 8 a.m., and Betty had the breakfast ready at 7. And she is quite a cook! We enjoyed quiche, crepes, steel cut oatmeal, fresh fruit and more.

The other thing that made this B&B so delightful was the setting. The back yard is a stunning garden, and you could choose to have your morning coffee or breakfast on the balcony overlooking the garden. At breakfast, the meal is served in a central area with a view of Bellingham Bay. The upstairs is available to the guests; including the beautiful sitting area, where you can read a book and enjoy the view, and the common area where you can watch TV (we had to get our Olympics fix).

We appreciated the convenient location -- it was so close to WWU, Fairhaven and downtown Bellingham. Since my daughter will be attending WWU, we will be back to enjoy the comforts and hospitality of Viewmont Manor!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I think about your daughter all the time, wondering how her first year of college is going. Thanks for speaking so highly of our B&B. We loved having you...We hope for four years of developing friendship!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walport, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

In early June 2012 my wife and I wanted to spend a couple of nights(Thursday and Friday) in Bellingham, but on trying to make reservations in hotels I was told Friday was sold out. So I started looking for B&bs and found the Viewmont Manor, which is a small and fairly new B&B. Upon calling they were able to take us for the nights we wanted.
The facility consists of two nice bedrooms on the second floor of a very attractive house in a residential area with distant views of the city and bay. Our hostess, Betty Cribb, was a fountain of information about the city with ideas about things to do, good restaurants, and how to get around. She explained that Western Washington University(located in Bellingham) was having commencement that weekend and that was why we had trouble finding accomodations on Friday night.
The rooms were comfortable and the food wonderful. When you get up in the morning there is a tray with a pot of coffee and two scones outside your door. Breakfast, served later but at a time that you and Betty decided on, was filling and tasty. She had extra scones which she gave us when we started out for the day, and those plus a latte after our big breakfast was enough for lunch.
Would we stay there again-in a heartbeat!
Ned Brittain

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I could not have asked for kinder, more generous-hearted first guests than you and your wife. Bellingham missed out on two lovely people when you decided not to move here earlier in your career. Thank you for your gracious response.
p.s. I still nag Glenn about reversing the bathroom doors. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Viewmont Manor while visiting family in Bellingham.

The house is obviously new, but it is beautifully decorated and very homey.

You have a choice of breakfast in the area across from the rooms and which has a commanding view of the sound, or you can eat on your balcony that overlooks a beautiful garden.

Our bed was comfy and had nice 400 count sheets. All of the linens were top notch.

Our host was extremely hospitable and provided early coffee and heavenly scones prior to the breakfast sitting. Breakfast was great with lots of fresh berries.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Viewmont and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
How lucky was I that you stopped on your way east! Come back any time...the scones are still yummy, and if you're lucky you can try almond croissants too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B, and I have to say it was a great experience. We made a trip to Bellingham while my son visited WWU for a tour, and staying at Viewmont Manor made our weekend very comfortable. Our family of 5 stayed the weekend, and found it very comfortable, super convenient to the university, and a great launch spot for visiting DT Bellingham, Fairhaven , and other destinations in the area. The hostess was very friendly and hospitable and the accommodations where larger than expected while still being very homey. If our son picks WWU I’m sure we’ll be staying here quite a bit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Maureen: How kind of you to write. Come back and visit Elwood & Irma and have a nice warm scone on me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I travel to Bellingham to visit family. When we went in April we stayed at Viewmont Manor where proprietor Betty Cribbs was an amazingly warm and gracious host. She thinks of everything to make your stay comfortable, the room was delightful with a view of her beautiful garden and wonderful decor, comfortable bed and lovely linens. The breakfast featured delicious homemade granola, amazing scones and more. We can't wait to go back for another luxurious respit.
Their location couldn't be more convenient with easy access to I-5, WWU and downtown Bellingham.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We're not such a secret anymore, thanks to you! We've got your room ready anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

You practically need a San Franscisco streetcar to get up the driveway, but payoff is turning around after parking and seeing this town's bay and much more of puget sound. Then, greeted warmly and shown our quartrs by Betty (Glenn showed up later), we were even more impressed. Her award-winning scones for brekfast, along with other great eats, were more then we could finish. Everything was clean, upscale, great backyard/woods,and we barely noticed another party staying there with us. This as our third visit, and we'll be back! I'd give six circles if i could!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wendell, come back soon, or just send Shirley! We'll have a grand time! I can't tell you how many times your advice has come in handy. You're a good man to know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Viewmont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmont Manor

Address: 1031 38th Street, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viewmont Manor was built in 2000 as our family home. Our children have grown and each have their own home now, so we are inviting you to come and enjoy the house with us. We have a distant view of Bellingham Bay to the west. Our bedrooms face the east, which makes them very peaceful and quiet. Each bedroom looks out over our garden from its own private balcony. Each room has an electric fire place in the winter and a remote control standing fan in the summer. Scones and coffee/tea are available every morning right outside your bedroom door. A full breakfast is later served in our dining room downstairs. We have a cozy library stocked with books for your enjoyment. The view from the library is one of the best. If you are interested in our rooms but they appear to be booked, please give us a call and we will try our best to accommodate your needs. Please note on the map below that there is no entry to 38th St from the south. We live at the dead end of the street from the north. What looks like Knox St on the map is actually a creek. So, you'll have to drive up Ridgemont and turn right onto 38th St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Viewmont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viewmont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.