We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Viewmont Manor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viewmont Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Viewmont Manor to your Saves list
Viewmont Manor
1031 38th Street, Bellingham, WA 98226   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Walport, OR
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay at Viewmont Manor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

In early June 2012 my wife and I wanted to spend a couple of nights(Thursday and Friday) in Bellingham, but on trying to make reservations in hotels I was told Friday was sold out. So I started looking for B&bs and found the Viewmont Manor, which is a small and fairly new B&B. Upon calling they were able to take us for the nights we wanted.
The facility consists of two nice bedrooms on the second floor of a very attractive house in a residential area with distant views of the city and bay. Our hostess, Betty Cribb, was a fountain of information about the city with ideas about things to do, good restaurants, and how to get around. She explained that Western Washington University(located in Bellingham) was having commencement that weekend and that was why we had trouble finding accomodations on Friday night.
The rooms were comfortable and the food wonderful. When you get up in the morning there is a tray with a pot of coffee and two scones outside your door. Breakfast, served later but at a time that you and Betty decided on, was filling and tasty. She had extra scones which she gave us when we started out for the day, and those plus a latte after our big breakfast was enough for lunch.
Would we stay there again-in a heartbeat!
Ned Brittain

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I could not have asked for kinder, more generous-hearted first guests than you and your wife. Bellingham missed out on two lovely people when you decided not to move here earlier in your career. Thank you for your gracious response.
p.s. I still nag Glenn about reversing the bathroom doors. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Viewmont Manor while visiting family in Bellingham.

The house is obviously new, but it is beautifully decorated and very homey.

You have a choice of breakfast in the area across from the rooms and which has a commanding view of the sound, or you can eat on your balcony that overlooks a beautiful garden.

Our bed was comfy and had nice 400 count sheets. All of the linens were top notch.

Our host was extremely hospitable and provided early coffee and heavenly scones prior to the breakfast sitting. Breakfast was great with lots of fresh berries.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Viewmont and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
How lucky was I that you stopped on your way east! Come back any time...the scones are still yummy, and if you're lucky you can try almond croissants too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was our first stay at a B&B, and I have to say it was a great experience. We made a trip to Bellingham while my son visited WWU for a tour, and staying at Viewmont Manor made our weekend very comfortable. Our family of 5 stayed the weekend, and found it very comfortable, super convenient to the university, and a great launch spot for visiting DT Bellingham, Fairhaven , and other destinations in the area. The hostess was very friendly and hospitable and the accommodations where larger than expected while still being very homey. If our son picks WWU I’m sure we’ll be staying here quite a bit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Maureen: How kind of you to write. Come back and visit Elwood & Irma and have a nice warm scone on me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My husband and I travel to Bellingham to visit family. When we went in April we stayed at Viewmont Manor where proprietor Betty Cribbs was an amazingly warm and gracious host. She thinks of everything to make your stay comfortable, the room was delightful with a view of her beautiful garden and wonderful decor, comfortable bed and lovely linens. The breakfast featured delicious homemade granola, amazing scones and more. We can't wait to go back for another luxurious respit.
Their location couldn't be more convenient with easy access to I-5, WWU and downtown Bellingham.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We're not such a secret anymore, thanks to you! We've got your room ready anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

You practically need a San Franscisco streetcar to get up the driveway, but payoff is turning around after parking and seeing this town's bay and much more of puget sound. Then, greeted warmly and shown our quartrs by Betty (Glenn showed up later), we were even more impressed. Her award-winning scones for brekfast, along with other great eats, were more then we could finish. Everything was clean, upscale, great backyard/woods,and we barely noticed another party staying there with us. This as our third visit, and we'll be back! I'd give six circles if i could!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wendell, come back soon, or just send Shirley! We'll have a grand time! I can't tell you how many times your advice has come in handy. You're a good man to know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viewmont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmont Manor

Address: 1031 38th Street, Bellingham, WA 98226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely home overlooking Bellingham Bay awaits your arrival. Each room looks out over our garden from its own private balcony. Scones and coffee are available every morning right outside your bedroom door. A full breakfast is later served, and where it is served is entirely your choice: in your room, right outside your door in the guest quarters, or in our dining room downstairs. We have a cozy library stocked with books for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Viewmont Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viewmont Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.