We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great central location with charming historic ambiance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Fairhaven Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Be in Fairhaven for $149
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Uxbridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great central location with charming historic ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I was looking for a quaint, charming getaway for my husband and I and this unique inn definitely fit the bill. It's right in the heart of Fairhaven; a picturesque historic neighbourhood of Bellingham, Washington. There are lots of cool shops and restaurants within easy walking distance and it's right across the street from the "Village Green" which is a neat little town courtyard where events are frequently held such as a local market or live music. Outdoor movies are played there in the summer evenings apparently. Our visit was in September, so we missed out on this novelty unfortunately.

The hotel was clean with a lovely historic feel to it even though the building is only about 10 years old. There is a nice continental breakfast included as part of your stay where you can choose cereal, muffins, waffles, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, tea, etc. A good selection.

A couple of downsides:
1) The beds are EXTREMELY hard and the feather pillows are very thin and insubstantial. The polyester pillows were okay.
2) The hotel is set up with rooms on the "Bayside" and rooms on the "Parkside". The Bayside rooms have a water view...BUT the water is far away and between you and the water lies an industrial complex. It's noisy on this side of the inn. You are serenaded by overzealous seagulls, trains (complete with loud blaring horns), and the lovely buzz of industrial ventilation and parking lot lighting.

My husband and I had a terrible sleep the first night in our Bayside room and were forced to request a room on the Parkside. A room on this side of the inn is MUCH better in my opinion. And the per-night rate is lower too. The beds and pillows were just as disappointing, but at least you can get a much quieter night's sleep. And it's kind of interesting to observe the activities across the street at the Village Green from the window of your room.

Overall, I had a very nice time at The Fairhaven Inn, but I really strongly feel that the beds and pillows need to be upgraded. I've slept in more comfortable beds in lower-star-rated hotels. The location is SUPERB however. It's great to have such easy walking-distance access to the local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperFVI, Owner at Fairhaven Village Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2009
Dear Superhappyfunartist,

As the owners of the Fairhaven Village Inn we appreciate your feedback and thank you for recommending us!

We are glad that you enjoyed our charming little town – your description of life here in historic Fairhaven was perfect. Please allow us to comment on some of your observations during your stay with us:

1) It is nice to hear that you liked our breakfast selection, we make an effort to keep it varied and also source from local businesses, like our muffins from the Chuckanut Bay Bakery who uses only local ingredients from Whatcom County.

2) We endeavor both on our website and in person to give a true picture of the hotel’s location in the heart of Fairhaven, close to a working harbor, and with convenient access to outdoor activities as well as beautiful bayside trails and unique shops and restaurants. We understand that the seagulls and trains – all part of an active seaside community in the Pacific Northwest – can be quite noisy at times and we are sorry for the disruption they caused on your first night. But we are glad that you enjoyed the parkside room you moved to, as do many of our other guests who favor the view over the Village Green.

3) As for the bedding, sleep comfort is a very personal choice and we are always looking for the combinations that provide all of our guests with the best sleep. Ironically, on my desk, as I write this note, is a request from a guest who wants to purchase one of our down pillows! We apologize that the pillows did not meet your expectations and we value your feedback in this respect as we are always looking for ways to personalize and improve our guests’ stay. We do offer a choice of down and synthetic pillows, when you return please let our guest services deliver the best pillow for you.

Thank you so much for your constructive and thoughtful comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Gene & Connie Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    79
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
62
151
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nyack, NY
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

If you're looking for a clean, friendly, comfortable place to stay in a charming area, this is it! For travelers off the ferry from Victoria this is a ten minute walk from the port. Breakfast is included in this delightful inn with a staff that is helpful and knowledgable. Highlights of local activities are posted, the rooms are made up in a timely manner, comfortable robes, free internet--and just steps from shops, restaurants and walking trails.
Having just experienced supposedly high end Jasper Lodge and its charges for Internet services, small bathrooms and lack of amenities, the Fairhaven Village Inn was a delightful, affordable experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Just a one nighter, but an extemely nice hotel, in a great location. Fairhaven is a charm, with shopping, restaurants, and lots of local colour.
The room was nicely appointed, with a view of Port of Bellingham area, and a fantastic sunset to boot.
No compaints, we enjoyed our quick stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

We stayed at Fairhaven Inn for a wedding and had a great time! Many friends and family members stayed there as well which added to the fun. The living room area is warm and welcoming and an ideal spot for relaxing, the rooms were immaculate and very comfortable and with the inn located in Fairhaven, it is the perfect play to stay. Fairhaven has an abundance of great restaraunts, shopping and walking trails, everything is within walking distance of the inn. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

From the look of this hotel's website it's an old building with authentic period charm. But in reality it looks to be a fairly new building, and although it's a perfectly fine hotel, the old-timey looking stuff is limited to just the front facade and the lobby; once you get to the rooms they're nice but just like any other good hotel rooms. We had a "bay view" room, which has a gas fireplace, and the room faces the water and has a small terrace looking over the hotel's parking lot.. The water view is about a quarter mile away, and in between is an uninteresting expanse of low industrial buildings. Fairhaven itself is full of cool little shops and restaurants, although a lot of places to eat seemed to close early.

  • Liked — Neighborhood
  • Disliked — Expensive for what you get
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

the previous reviewers have accurately stated all that is good about the Fairhaven Village Inn.

None of them really have anything negative to say. That is because there is nothing negative to say.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

I am so happy we chose this Inn for my daughter and I on our trip to visit Western WA University. I plan to return frequently and this will always be my first choice of places to stay in Bellingham.
The staff is very helpful with information and suggested restaurants and driving routes.
The accommodations include very large rooms, comfortable beds with down duvets and large baths. We stayed in the less expensive Park Side and enjoyed the park views and people watching. We left our windows open for cool breezes and it was never noisy at night. There is a very nice outdoor waterview terrace on the 2nd floor for guests to enjoy. The sunset views are spectacular. From the terrace it's also possible to enjoy the outdoor summer movies shown in the park across the street. Our ice bucket was filled every day, and local fudge left our second day.
The owner herself was serving the delicious breakfast available to guests. Fresh waffles, in season berries, yogurt, local pastries, great coffee & juice is all included in the rate-we enjoyed it very much!
This hotel looks very historic and blends well into the antiquity of the neighborhood, although it is only 12 yrs old.
Fairhaven is a charming village of shops, restaurants, book stores which is very close to the University and downtown Bellingham. Take time to explore the historic homes and mansions on the hillside and walk the waterfront trails.
On Saturdays, don't miss the farmer's market in downtown Bellingham, and on Wednesdays there is another right in Fairhaven.

  • Liked — Very comfortable, quiet, large rooms with comfortable beds & great location-walking.
  • Disliked — Nothing! I enjoyed everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairhaven Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.