We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairhaven Village Inn
1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off 2nd Night
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderfull!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My Aunt had stayed here and just raved and raved about it, so i stayed here and I have to say worth every penny!!!!!!! Staff was exceptional rooms were beautifull and located near all the cities best. I believe every employee must have went to a class teaching customer service, because thy were all AWESOME!!

Room Tip: enjoyed every min.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperFVI, Owner at Fairhaven Village Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
First, please thank your aunt for telling others about the Fairhaven Village Inn!

We are so glad you enjoyed the quality of our guest rooms and unique Fairhaven location.
As you pointed out, it is truly the people who work here every day of which we are the most proud.
The level of commitment, caring and professionalism to guests by our management team, housekeeping team and guest services group is the best customer service class in the world.
Thank you for noticing!

Connie Shannon
Owner and Innkeeper
Fairhaven Village Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    71
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
129
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Working our way back to Canada, drove along the Chuckanut Drive for the view. We had booked this place vs. going to a typical motel chain, and glad we did! Rooms are very large and open with a very comfortable king size bed, balcony with a view to the bay, elevator, breakfast room, wifi and parking included. They give a 10% AAA discount. All good. The place was very clean, and all fixtures and fittings worked.

Our only struggle was with the booking process itself - booked on line, got a date incorrect, when back to the website to correct (there was a edit/modify button) and thought I had it fixed. But, get a phone message on cell late at night saying 'if we are coming after 10 pm to ring the buzzer" ok, that is weird, but we are not due in until Thursday, so no problem. Then get message next morning saying we have been charged for the missed reservation of last night! Umm, No! we are not due in until Thursday.... Called, explained - ok, no problem, our room is available on Thursday, charge is transferred to that booking - good to go! Phew! Moral of the story - if you make any error on your original booking - phone the hotel directly to get the details right. The edit/modify button on their website doesn't actually seem to work....

Otherwise, it was a lovely place - I really enjoyed listening to the trains (others have complained about this on this page). I like trains and train sounds - hubby didn't even notice them! This morning I was up in time to watch the Alaska ferry arrive and back into their dock, as I noted the Amtrak train from Vancouver came in, along with the Greyhound bus that met the boat. There are some buildings along the shore in between this hotel and the actual bay, but they are not active in the night. I had NO issues with the building, or the services or staff at all. Will come here again, if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: As long as the sound of trains doesn't bother you, Bayside is lovely. Watched a nice sunset and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the Fairhaven Village Inn for two nights this week. The Inn appears old but it is relatively new....looking at their library you would think it was a heritage building.

The Inn is located in the centre of Fairhaven...we parked our car and walked...you are right in the centre of town.

A few people commented about the trains...yes we did hear them but it was fine. It appears that the trains (which are far enough away) have to toot their horns as they approach a crossing....some engineers were gentle with the horn in the middle of the nights...others may have taken delight in being loud..or they were just being careful that a car did not see and hear them. We are both sensitive and this was not a problem for either of us.

The staff, every one of them...went above and beyond to help us...and as they said...."I had many unusual requests"...each of the staff came through with flying colours in getting answers to my questions...they could not have been more helpful and informed....and I did give them difficult questions.

Oh and I almost forgot....breakfast is included...our fav. was the mixed berries and yoghurt . They offered waffles, toast, OJ, coffee tea etc....hard boiled eggsand I also appreciated that 24 hr. a day they have coffee and tea available in the library.

As others have suggested...not sure it is worth paying extra for the sea view but we did take the sea view room as we wanted the king bed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the town side may be quieter if you think the trains may bother you. We LOVED being able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, BC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had our second lovely visit to this hotel/inn last week. It is small compared to the alternatives but more than makes up for it in the lovely furnishings that redole of the past yet have most of the modern conveniences and then some. What most stood out this time and last was the flawless genuine friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Because of bad driving conditions to the north the day we were arriving, we didn't get in until midnight, way past the usual front desk hours. But the nighttime staff person went way out of his way to make sure we were in and comfortable. The breakfast is limited but excellent and they actually make good coffee. We stayed in a beautiful suite overlooking the Fairhaven Square, across which is a super non-chain bookstore -- and you even get a $5 coupon from the Inn for that store. Our suite was quiet and perfect in almost every way...except I would have thought that a suite might have some for-sale drinks and goodies in -room, perhaps a mini-fridge. Maybe that just creates a lot of extra work? Anyway, no complaints: we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are visiting Fairhaven this is the perfect hotel to stay in. We found it very convenient to enjoy the shops and restaurants in the area and walk right back to our room. We had room 303 on the bayside and it was very nice. We loved the marble fireplace and cozy chairs. The bathroom shower could use one of those curved shower rods so the cold shower curtain does'nt touch you since its a small tub. The bathroom mirror is huge and the makeup mirror is very handy. We had never heard of Comphy sheets but I tell you I am already online to buy them, scrumptious sheets and comfortable bed. The train is about 1/4 of a mile away from the hotel and yes you can hear the whistle a few times late at night. I only know that since I had insomnia the first night we stayed, the second night I slept right thru them. The area behind the hotel is industrial with the water at the top of the horizon. The hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just happened to drop in and get a water view. Room was very clean and breakfast and cookies excellent w/price of room. Easy walking to downtown stores. Staff very friendly. Off street parking. Worth the price of the rooms.

Room Tip: Not very large, so it fills up quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

1. Elegant rooms that would please even Lady Mary from Downton Abbey. Graciously sized with high ceilings, wide baseboards and trim, expensive drapes. Two comty overstuffed chairs in front of the fireplace, walnut desk, chair, TV cabinet and drawers, lovely art work on the walls. Expensive border paper along the ceiling.

2. Luxe "Lady Mary" touches: down comforter and pillows, white matelasse coverlet, soft woven cotton throw, silky linens, deluxe products in the bathroom, plenty of drawer space. Robes!

3. Surgically clean. The bathroom floor was clean enough to give birth upon. I moved one of the big chairs and the carpet beneath was as clean and dust free as the rest of the carpet. Someone has been cleaning "under -- not around". My mother would approve.

4. A Library fit for Professor Plum, Colonel Mustard and Mrs. Peacock. The large, cozy oak paneled library has a fireplace, comfortable couches and chairs, books of all kinds, from useful travel and trail guides to NYT Best Sellers to Nancy Drew. Board games and puzzles for all ages. Settle back with coffee, tea or cocoa from the service set out for you and spend a pleasant evening or rainy afternoon.

5. Breakfast. Continental and satisfying. Fresh berry compote to eat with yogurt or spoon over waffles, artisan breads to toast, muffins, English and otherwise, hard-boiled eggs. Eat in the bright breakfast area or carry upstairs on a tray and eat "fireside".

6. Guest means Guest: Warm cookies in the evening set out in the lobby with a tray of dark chocolate, 24 hour hot beverage service in the library, private (free) parking area, staff eager to help with directions, restaurant suggestions, etc., $5 gift certificate to the bookstore

7. Fine location. Across the "green" from the big bookstore, right on the walking path that goes along the water, view of Bellingham's "working waterfront:, centrally located in the historical district of Farihaven. The building, by the way, is of recent vintage which is why it is so immaculate, yet in the historical style absent all the Victorian kitch or that exhausted look and smell that older buildings sometime get.

Room Tip: I liked the little balcony on the third floor water side, where I could see the train and hear the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.