We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Constant trains!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairhaven Village Inn
1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi, Parking, Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Constant trains!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a charming, friendly hotel: very nice rooms, wonderful bed, excellent breakfast. But . . . the trains! All night long, constant screaming whistles and brakes. It was impossible to sleep. I've never had such an exhausting night in a hotel. I was on the bay view side, and apparently that is where the trains scream past just a few blocks away. If you want to sleep, ask for the street side. Also, there was a very loud air conditioner outside.

Room Tip: Ask for the street side. I moved to a regular motel on Guide Meridian in order to be able to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperFVI, Owner at Fairhaven Village Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Allison T,

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed many elements of your stay with us. We make great efforts to provide the charming and friendly ambience you enjoyed. Our guest rooms, amenities and atmosphere are all essential parts of the experience.

We strive to present an accurate description of the Inn’s location: in the heart of Historic Fairhaven, near a working harbor, with convenient access to unique shops, restaurants and Bayside trails. I understand that the trains, a fact of life in the Pacific Northwest, can be noisy and I am sorry for the disturbance you experienced. I sincerely hope you will return and reserve a Parkside room, which faces away from the tracks and, therefore, may be a more suitable option for noise sensitivity.

Sincerely,
Connie Shannon
Owner and Manager
Fairhaven Village Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    68
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
52
120
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great hotel ! We were visiting our daughter who attends Western University over the holidays.
Everyone was warm and friendly. It is located near all the unique boutiques and book stores.
Very private. They offer a lovely free breakfast with delicious waffles and fresh berries.
There is a walking path by the hotel (about 2 miles) with beautiful views and leads right into
the town of Bellingham . Perfect!

Room Tip: The water view rooms are available, however, there are may warehouses that blocked a part of the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Langley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the only suite and it was spectacular! The room was huge and beautiful and clean. The location was perfect and within walking distance of everything. Even though it was centrally located it was still cozy and quiet. There are a ton of restaurants, cafés, and places to get a bite or drink since the inn doesn't have an on site restaurant but they do offer a pretty great continental breaky. Would definitely make this my first choice in quaint little Fairhaven

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Front desk staff was very welcoming, pleasant, and helpful. Free covered parking was a bonus. The room was spotless and spacious, and a gas fireplace only added to the ambiance.
Warm cookies greeted us upon check in, and the complimentary breakfast was basic but nourishing. Centrally located in the Fairhaven district with cool shops and eateries nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed over New Year's. The room was large and comfortable, with a gas fireplace for nice atmosphere, good-sized bathroom. The breakfast included was surprising: waffles made to order, hard boiled eggs, fruit, as well as the usual cereals, bread & bagels. Good coffee. Nice game room/library for hanging out. Staff was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stay her every time we visit Bellingham. Its feels like a home away from home. Large rooms, great library and sitting area and of course an excellent continental breakfast. The bonus of course are the helpful and friendly staff. My wife and I love it here.

Room Tip: No bad rooms at the Fairhaven. At least not one we've stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Inn has a great deal of charm, but by comparison to the local chains, is pricey, especially for a one night stay. I agree with previous reviewers that the place has the feel of a large B&B or an old hotel, without a B&B style breakfast. The building is vintage and there are beautiful old pieces of furniture throughout. To really enjoy the amenities and spaciousness you need more than a one-night stay. You can have tea, coffee, or cocoa in the living room and read the papers or play a game. I would choose water view side, not so much for the view, but for the off street location of those rooms. The street side was a bit noisy, but it did not last too late into the night. The rooms are large, the bed linens, and bathroom products are quite luxurious and bathrobes are provided. The breakfast is, what I would consider sparse, boiled eggs, various things to toast, extra large muffins (a la Costco) and the option for a Belgian waffle with fruit topping. Parking is behind the hotel and not all under cover. If you have a need to stay in this area of Bellingham for more than one night and want a comfy living room and bed to come home to, this could be your place. It could also be good for a romantic weekend get away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#2 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.