We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairhaven Village Inn
1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% Off 2nd Night
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed over New Year's. The room was large and comfortable, with a gas fireplace for nice atmosphere, good-sized bathroom. The breakfast included was surprising: waffles made to order, hard boiled eggs, fruit, as well as the usual cereals, bread & bagels. Good coffee. Nice game room/library for hanging out. Staff was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    63
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
112
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stay her every time we visit Bellingham. Its feels like a home away from home. Large rooms, great library and sitting area and of course an excellent continental breakfast. The bonus of course are the helpful and friendly staff. My wife and I love it here.

Room Tip: No bad rooms at the Fairhaven. At least not one we've stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Inn has a great deal of charm, but by comparison to the local chains, is pricey, especially for a one night stay. I agree with previous reviewers that the place has the feel of a large B&B or an old hotel, without a B&B style breakfast. The building is vintage and there are beautiful old pieces of furniture throughout. To really enjoy the amenities and spaciousness you need more than a one-night stay. You can have tea, coffee, or cocoa in the living room and read the papers or play a game. I would choose water view side, not so much for the view, but for the off street location of those rooms. The street side was a bit noisy, but it did not last too late into the night. The rooms are large, the bed linens, and bathroom products are quite luxurious and bathrobes are provided. The breakfast is, what I would consider sparse, boiled eggs, various things to toast, extra large muffins (a la Costco) and the option for a Belgian waffle with fruit topping. Parking is behind the hotel and not all under cover. If you have a need to stay in this area of Bellingham for more than one night and want a comfy living room and bed to come home to, this could be your place. It could also be good for a romantic weekend get away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel is very nice, friendly staff, good size rooms. Continental breakfast was the best I've had in a while. Wonderful library with fireplace to make for a relaxed afternoon or evening. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel - the front lobby has the feel of a great old time hotel - very fitting of the neighborhood. The room was well appointed, had a gas fireplace and very comfortable. The view on the bayside rooms is OK - overlooking the industrial harbor area in Fairhaven, so it's several warehouses to look over before you see the bay. This hotel is more expensive than some of the cheaper hotels on Lakeway drive, but it is such a beautiful setting I think its worth it - at least for a special occasion.

Room Tip: The train runs by once or twice at night (several blocks away) and you can hear the horn from the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you like cozy little nooks, this is the place for you!

The hotel is very clean and polished, updated, and well maintained, yet has that quaint, warm, old-time feel (think rotary phones, reading in the library with cushy armchairs, warm fireplaces, soft blankets). It was perfect for a one night winter getaway from Vancouver, BC.

The hotel and surrounding, very walkable and boutique-y village embodied COZY, and were all decked out for the Christmas holiday season. We had a fireplace in our room and the bed had the softest sheets ever. When we checked in, there were chocolate chip cookies and mandarin oranges at the front desk, and tea and coffee in the library. Continental breakfast the next morning was excellent.

Our room faced Bellingham Bay, but the inn is right next to the train tracks, so the train horns are really quite loud in the middle of the night, but I suppose that can't be helped.

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in the Fairhaven Village Inn for a weekend in early December and enjoyed the location and the hotel very much.The reception team was friendly and knowledgeable about local services and attractions. We were in the suite for the weekend and it was amazing - spacious and well appointed. This suite would be ideal for having others join you for a light meal. The fireplace and the chairs situated to take full advantage of the ambiance made the room even more comfortable. The bedding was luxurious and the bed and pillows comfortable. Old Fairhaven is a wonderful shopping area with an excellent book store and the dining options allow for a wide variety of tastes and budgets.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be excellent. You will hear the trains regardless of which room you are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Hotel
Fairhaven Village Bellingham
Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.