We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy winter getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Fairhaven Village Inn
1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek Rates from $149
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
“Cozy winter getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you like cozy little nooks, this is the place for you!

The hotel is very clean and polished, updated, and well maintained, yet has that quaint, warm, old-time feel (think rotary phones, reading in the library with cushy armchairs, warm fireplaces, soft blankets). It was perfect for a one night winter getaway from Vancouver, BC.

The hotel and surrounding, very walkable and boutique-y village embodied COZY, and were all decked out for the Christmas holiday season. We had a fireplace in our room and the bed had the softest sheets ever. When we checked in, there were chocolate chip cookies and mandarin oranges at the front desk, and tea and coffee in the library. Continental breakfast the next morning was excellent.

Our room faced Bellingham Bay, but the inn is right next to the train tracks, so the train horns are really quite loud in the middle of the night, but I suppose that can't be helped.

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    75
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
56
136
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in the Fairhaven Village Inn for a weekend in early December and enjoyed the location and the hotel very much.The reception team was friendly and knowledgeable about local services and attractions. We were in the suite for the weekend and it was amazing - spacious and well appointed. This suite would be ideal for having others join you for a light meal. The fireplace and the chairs situated to take full advantage of the ambiance made the room even more comfortable. The bedding was luxurious and the bed and pillows comfortable. Old Fairhaven is a wonderful shopping area with an excellent book store and the dining options allow for a wide variety of tastes and budgets.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be excellent. You will hear the trains regardless of which room you are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We had a lovely two day stay at this little inn near the waterfront. Christmas decorations in the village gave it wonderful holiday feel. Enjoyed strolling through the town, using the waterfront trails and the state park was nearby too. The staff was attentive and the included breakfast (yummy waffles) was a nice perk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We are from the East, traveling between SEA and Vancouver and back the other way three days later . On-line find. Really nice walk North on the waterfront, fun wine shop nearby, RR noises are pleasing, nice desk people, OK local food (the East does better).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Fairhaven last week. It was a wonderful stay. The Inn is located right in the heart of Fairhaven, the historic district of Bellingham. While the lobby is historic, warm (and that was important since it was 12 degrees outside), the rooms are modernized. Comfy beds with lots of pillows. 2 comfortable arm chairs were nice. We had a fireplace room facing the bay. The hotel staff were very nice, friendly, helpful and fun to talk with. Cookies, coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the library 24 hours. Its a very nice place to stay. Ask for a 3rd floor room with the bay view. Lovely time of year to go and when you check in you receive a packet of discount coupons to the merchants. Biggest tip- go next door to Magdelena's for crepes! We went 3 times in 3 days.

Room Tip: 3rd floor bayside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Lovely historic building. The Library has coffee and water, games and books - I could have just stayed in there all day. Breakfast is limited. I wish they had more cooked foods and selection of breads. Staff is very pleasant. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very nice - romantic Inn, that reflects yesteryears! Comfortable bed. Details attended to included in supplies! They warned us a train ran through the night - but we wanted the bay view since the room had a fireplace. Could barely hear the train. Not a problem at all!
Village is decorated for Christmas and dining is close and plenty!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.