We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“College vacation for our granddaughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Fairhaven Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek Special
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Sweet Home
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“College vacation for our granddaughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a trip for our granddaughter before she attends Mt. State University. We were so impressed with the staff, the lobby and our room. The highlight was the whale watching trip that lasted from 9:30 to 5:30. Our captain was so informative and found so many orcas for the guests. The staff suggested many restaurants that were delicious and the Fairhaven District was full of interesting stores in walking distance. I would recommend the Fairhaven Village Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor overlooking the bay. The A/C was very quiet . There is an amtrack train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    85
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
69
160
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here in the suite at the Fairhaven Village Inn. The room was huge and comprised a living room with two sofas, dining table, TV and so on, a bathroom, separate jacuzzi bath in its own room and a bedroom. The room was clean and fresh and had a lovely view out over the village green where there's an amazing bookshop, restaurant, and outdoor cinema. The service was great and the staff were really friendly. There were fresh cookies in reception every day, good tea and coffee and a great continental breakfast which we enjoyed in our room.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the nearby train horn is pretty noisy and if this is likely to bother you it's probably best to bring some earplugs since you really wouldn't want to miss the opportunity to stay at this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel only has one suite and it's a really great room. If you need the extra space, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed one night at Fairhaven Village Inn while checking out Western Washington University in Bellingham. Western is a quick 10 minute drive from Village Inn.

The hotel is situated in the Fairhaven area of Bellingham, with plenty of cute shops, restaurants, and historical buildings in a small walkable district. The hotel is clearly maintained with love and care. All of the public rooms and our room were exceptionally clean. Our room had two extra comfortable beds with incredibly soft linens. The room was large, had a fireplace, and a lovely view of Bellingham Bay. We had no trouble with the sounds of the harbor and enjoyed having our deck door open, but the room is sound-proofed and with the deck closed, noise from the seagulls, train, and boat traffic is minimal.

All of the staff were welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast, included with the room, is served in a bright room or guests can take their breakfast to the nearby library. Breakfast was high quality continental fare and also included fresh cooked Belgian waffles served by a friendly staff person.

Hotel front desk recommended Mambo Italian for dinner (separate review). Easy walk and excellent food.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Fairhaven Inn. The staff was VERY helpful and friendly. Our room was wonderful - very clean, large, and comfortable. We had a bayview balcony and a working fireplace. The breakfast room was quaint and very clean - lots of choices to change up your breakfast everyday, and the location was terrific. We were in walking distance to all of the restaurants and shops and were able to walk down to the edge of the bay walkway right from the inn. The innkeepers helped with dinner reservations, and also kept our leftovers in the hotel refrigerator for us. We were able to heat up our "leftovers" in the breakfast room. We will definitely stay at the Fairhaven Inn the next time we visit Bellingham. We also liked the library area with coffee, tea and lemon water available all day long. Excellent accommodations, small town feel and very convenient to the Bellingham area.

Room Tip: Select a bayview room with a fireplace on the third floor. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights (July 11 & 12) and loved our big room, which was super clean great kingsize bed. Luke at the Front Desk was particualry helpful, friendly and service oriented.
The location allows you to easily walk around Fairhaven. I will return fo9r sure - but there are trains right below that go by several times in the night and early morning - with their loud, mournful whiistle. Nevertheless, it's a great place to stay there.

Room Tip: The clam chowder for lunch at Skylark's was good. for fine dining try the Oyster Bar on Chucknut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very lovely hotel in beautiful quaint Fairhaven. Large room very clean. Can hike from hotel to Bellingham on a great path with great views. Very helpful front desk so helpful that when my keys dropped down the elevator shaft they called the elevator repair people from Seattle and they got the keys. They called us on my cell while we were shopping and said keys were found. Beyond good service, just wonderful and they took,care of the service call. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved our stay at the Village Inn. Fairhaven is a "delicious" area to visit and the Village Inn enhances the experience tremendously! We had the perfect room for viewing the fireworks and so enjoyed watching the world go by below. The room itself was large and beautifully appointed. we couldn't have asked for one thing more! The staff were superlatively friendly and accommodating; the library is well appointed; breakfast was wonderful!

Room Tip: Top floor gives better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhaven Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.