We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Fairhaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Save Saved
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairhaven Village Inn
1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off 2nd Night
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Fairhaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights (July 11 & 12) and loved our big room, which was super clean great kingsize bed. Luke at the Front Desk was particualry helpful, friendly and service oriented.
The location allows you to easily walk around Fairhaven. I will return fo9r sure - but there are trains right below that go by several times in the night and early morning - with their loud, mournful whiistle. Nevertheless, it's a great place to stay there.

Room Tip: The clam chowder for lunch at Skylark's was good. for fine dining try the Oyster Bar on Chucknut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    71
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
129
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very lovely hotel in beautiful quaint Fairhaven. Large room very clean. Can hike from hotel to Bellingham on a great path with great views. Very helpful front desk so helpful that when my keys dropped down the elevator shaft they called the elevator repair people from Seattle and they got the keys. They called us on my cell while we were shopping and said keys were found. Beyond good service, just wonderful and they took,care of the service call. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved our stay at the Village Inn. Fairhaven is a "delicious" area to visit and the Village Inn enhances the experience tremendously! We had the perfect room for viewing the fireworks and so enjoyed watching the world go by below. The room itself was large and beautifully appointed. we couldn't have asked for one thing more! The staff were superlatively friendly and accommodating; the library is well appointed; breakfast was wonderful!

Room Tip: Top floor gives better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Bellingham is home to Western Washington University, and, because of its charms, is the town that most of those students never wanted to leave when they graduated. But they did. Jobs are not Bellingham's big draw. So now many of those ex-students visit to relive some of those days. i am one. Fairhaven Village Inn is in "the south side", a nineteenth century architecture neighborhood in one of Bellingham's best student haunts, home of Bellingham's best bookstore, walking distance from long-distance train, ship, and bus connections and transfer points in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere.

Room Tip: rooms on the west side have views of the bay, but aren't a good choice on sunny days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Fairhaven Village Inn sits in the historic Fairhaven district, with shops and many places to eat. The desk people were very nice and the atmosphere is very calm. They have a nice 2nd floor patio that looks out over the street and you can see the bay. I somehow expected to be a lot closer to the water instead of being able to see it, over the tops of industrial type buildings. The advantage they say is that you can see the water, but you are not right next to the railroad tracks, which are quite noisy with the train whistle. The breakfast that is included is pretty slim, they will prepare a waffle for you, or they have cereals, hard boiled eggs, berries, yogurt, etc. Probably expect a little more for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just passing thru on our way to British Columbia and wanted to see Bellingham. What a lovely property: great location, courteous and attentive staff. The room was beautiful (would have loved to have used that fireplace had the weather been cooler), clean, well-appointed with very comfortable bed and bedding. The hotel is in a great location and the staff was very helpful with suggestions about Fairhaven Village. Truly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had a "bay side" room--nice views out to water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a one night mini-vacation at the Inn. The staff, rooms and location can't be beat! When we arrived on a Wednesday afternoon, the farmers market was in full-swing just across the street, with beautiful fresh berries and produce, jewelery, and street performers. Lovely way to spend an early summer afternoon. We wished we could stay til Saturday night, when they show movies in the same park during the summer. We explored the area, checked out potential restaurants for dinner (settled on Skylarks, which was wonderful), and purchased a lovely bottle of wine at The Purple Smile, just up the street. Upon arriving back at the inn, Luke, at the front desk, noticed the bag from the wine store and promptly provided us with a corkscrews and wine glasses! We enjoyed our wine on the sunny second floor patio - such a treat. In the evening we took a long walk on the South Bay trail, which starts just outside the inn. Our room was very large and the bed was comfortable. The sheets are outstanding! We enjoyed the view of the bay, and unlike some other reviewers, we didn't find the shipyard/industrial area to detract from it at all. We also didn't mind the sound from the trains; in fact we kept our sliding door open a bit all night, and found the sounds of the gulls, trains, and occasional boat horn quite acceptable. Yummy waffles and really good coffee in the breakfast room the next morning topped off the trip quite nicely. We would definitely recommend the inn to other guests looking for a pleasant getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.