We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairhaven Village Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Fairhaven Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi, Parking, Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Elkhart, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fairhaven Village Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a lovely, small inn locate on Bellingham Bay. Views from the Bayside rooms are worth the extra cost. Everything is high quality, including linens, lush cotton bathrobes to use during your stay or take with you for a modest price, and more. The staff is helpful and friendly, and there is a delicious breakfast included in the cost of the stay. Tea, coffee and cookies are available at no cost throughout the day in a cozy little library, which contains books, information about the area, and local restaurant menus. There is a trailhead just outside the inn, so that you can walk or bike near the bay. Within several blocks, easily walked, there are cafes, a great bookstore or two, art galleries, specialty shops, gelato, and much more. A delightful place to relax in the charming village of Fairhaven!

Room Tip: Go bayside! There are balconies off of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    84
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
67
159
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our quick get away. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good in regards to the town, everything was very close, but in regards to view it lacked. The harbor was pretty, but you had to ignore the industry before it first. There was also a constant hum in our room, but not too disturbing. There was a train and yes I could hear it during the day (actually far enough away to sound nice), but it did not wake me up during the night. The room was a good size and clean. The bed was very comfy, and while the bathroom was clean the shower/bathtub was a little small. the building gives you that old heritage feeling, but surprisingly was only built recent. It fits nicely into the neighborhood.

Would I return here? Yes, definitely!

Room Tip: We stayed on the harbor side on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The town of Fairhaven is quaint and pretty, lots of nice restaurants and eclectic stores but as far as the Inn is concerned – does a comfortable, cozy bed in a clean, spacious room make up for the loud, harrowing sound of a goods train passing by your window four times-a-night? You decide.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the building. And bring headphones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperFVI, General Manager at Fairhaven Village Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear,Guest,
We are happy that you enjoyed our lovely town during your recent stay with us. We are fortunate to be within walking distance to a wonderful selection of locally owned shops and restaurants and beautiful Bellingham Bay trails. We are also pleased you enjoyed our spacious rooms and comfortable bedding. We take pride in our cleanliness and the cozy atmosphere we provide for our guests.

The railroad is a fact of life for those who reside in urban coastal Washington. We are sorry for the disturbance it caused you. We hope you will return to the Fairhaven Village Inn and reserve one of our Parkside guestrooms. The Parkside of the Inn faces away from the Bay and tracks and may be a more suitable option for noise sensitivity.

Thank you so much for your comments.
Sincerely,

Connie Shannon
General Manager and Owner
Fairhaven Village Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Top notch staff welcomed us to this beautiful Inn! The beds are incredibly comfortable. Everything about our stay was perfect-it was quiet, people are friendly, the views of the bay and islands are stunning. We love this location with so many restaurants and shops within walking distance, as well as the trail along the water. Thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful old hotel. We had a very relaxing evening and were able to walk downtown Fairhaven for our dinner at Dirty Dan Harris'. The decor is older, romantic and the decorating is beautiful. Loved the complementary breakfast which even included some gluten free items which was great for us! This place deserves its current #1 ranking on trip advisor.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a lovely hotel! It was Thanksgiving weekend so it wasn't very crowded. Hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. We needed a place to eat dinner Thanksgiving night and were given recommendations and directions to restaurants close to the hotel. She even offered to call and make reservations! Bed was very comfortable and linens were so soft! Fireplace in room was very cozy and added a nice ambiance to the room.

Room Tip: Bay side rooms are probably quieter since there is a small park on the other side. Keep in mind the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for a short getaway and loved the location close to the beautiful walking path along the sea. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was large and very comfortable. I liked the good quality bread for breakfast and the late afternoon cookies were a welcome treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhaven Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.