We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Quaint Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairhaven Village Inn to your Saves list
Fairhaven Village Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek Special
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Loved This Quaint Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have relatives in the Bellingham area so we go there quite often and usually stay with them. On one of our trips there were several family members staying in the area so we chose to stay at a hotel. What a find! I LOVE Fairhaven Village and will most definitely visit/stay here again.

You are amidst this quaint area of "Old Bellingham" that has been remodeled, reshaped and revitalized.

Across the street from the Inn is a small park, during the summer months they play movies on a large brick wall just like in the movie Wedding Planner with Jennifer Lopez. It's like old fashioned family time at the park. There are several fine restaurants within walking distance and trails that lead along the waterfront.

There is a large ferry landing here and the Ferry's come and go on a semi weekly basis. It is a ferry that goes along the inside passage to Alaska and you can drive on or walk on. It is lots of fun watching the people who choose to camp in a tent on the deck setting up for their trip.

The hotel accomodations were very nice. It is a little spendier than what I usually pay but was well worth the extra. It is a beautiful hotel, good service and GREAT location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    85
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
69
160
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a well run Inn and great place to stay in Fairhaven. Centrally located with a view - although industrial - of a harbour. RIght next to excellent bookshops and restaurants - Fairhaven itself is a delight. You are also near downtown Bellingham which offers more great restaurants, bookshops, antique stores and the great Pickford Film Society for movies. The Inn itself is spacious, quiet and has excellent service. In summer breakfast outside on the rooftop deck is a must.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

While the Hotel is somewhat set back form the waters edge, the call of the gulls, the very comfortable room with a balcony over looking the bay and the relaxed yet vibrant atmosphere found on the streets of Fairhaven provides a great escape from the hustle and bustle of everday life. Be prepared to hear the occasional train whistle in the night. We will return.

Room Tip: Seaview room probably a nice idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful day away at the Fairhaven Village Inn. Our room on the second floor was decorated beautifully. We enjoyed the fireplace and the view of the sound. It was Wednesday so we headed across the street to the Village Green for the Farmer's Market. Among the things we did was visit all the little shops, and walk along the beach on the path that starts just across the street from the inn. In the evening we ate at Archer's Pub and Grill in the same block. The food was great and the service wonderful.

We played cards on the patio deck at the end of the hall and watched the sunset.

We left the sliding door open thinking to let in the breeze and the sound of the gulls. At 2:30 a.m. the horns of two trains woke us up. I got up to close the door. Then there was absolutely no sound! The mattress was perfect and every attention to detail was given for our comfort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Rooms very nice and clean. Very nice continental breakfast. Lovely patio looking at the bay. A little close to the trains and noisy birds but that cannot be helped.

Close to Fairhaven Village pubs and restaurants and the inter urban trail. Very nice!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed there a couple nights to have a full day driving to Mt. Baker. Our room overlooked the (frankly industrial) Fairhaven harbor with views of the San Juans on the horizon. The A/C was quiet and the bed soft. Across the street is the village green, a pleasantly busy city landmark surrounded by bookstores and cafes. A special shoutout to Linda and the helpful staff, who showed us how to view Mt. Baker from the S. Skagit Highway. We did hear the railroad come through in the night, but no big deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I should start by prefacing this review and say that this is the only hotel room that my husband and I actually paid for our entire 10-day trip to the Northwest. We tend to be point junkies and haven't paid for a hotel (before this one) in years. The area is nice, the rooms are fine. I was expecting more for $200/night. The photos make it look like this inn is on the bay, it is not. There's actually an industrial center that consumes the view between the inn and the water. The common areas are limited to a single library area, patio and small breakfast nook, these are fine, but again our expectations tend to be high. Breakfast was fine, waffles are yummy. The best part of the room was the sheets - thread count was heavenly and made the sleep quality great.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra to upgrade to the "bay" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhaven Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairhaven Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.