We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rumba

Cafe Rumba
1140 North State Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
360.746.8280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 396 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Peruvian
Restaurant details
Waldorf, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quirky but Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This place has a menu that will have you scratching your head-it is Pan American with a bit of the Caribbean basin tossed in for fun. The menu is all over the place. We went for tapas-they were generous, authentic (for whichever country they mimed), and down right delicioso. Make it a point to go check them out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Woolley, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Today was our first time eating at Cafe Rumba,but it already is one of our favorites. We both ordered a Club sandwich,a simple and usually bland sandwich. What we got was the best,most flavorful sandwich eighter of us had ever eaten. Our sandwich came with a side of potatoes covered with a spicy sauce. They were so good that we ordered some more to take home. When you go there be sure to try the fruit drinks. We look forward to trying the rest of the items on the menu. Next time we'll bring friends. Mike and Joan M.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“A Delight for my taste buds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

On Valentine's day, I took my husband to this little place for lunch. Having never been there, it was a new experience. I was delighted. The bread is homemade. Its a soup, sandwich, salad kind of place with some different beverages. The portion size was great, taste delicious, quick service and price right. I will definitely visit them again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST SANDWICH IN BELLINGHAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you are a foodie, do yourself a favor and have a sandwich at Cafe Rumba. BEST SANDWICH IN BELLINGHAM!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bravo Cafe Rumba! I Am Now Joining the Regulars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Expectations were high for my 2nd visit to Cafe Rumba. Now...what to eat? Asado De Res-that I devoured last visit-featuring Melt-in-your-mouth Pot Roast with Rumba's unique Tuca Marinara Sauce, or my friend Lynne's favorite-Pavo-Grilled Turkey with spinach, veggies, and a fusion of Rumba's magical Salsa's? Soup? Appetizers? I went for the Pavo. Each bite was a taste sensation! My friend, Jeanette, a vegetarian, chose the Peruano-Yam, cheese, fresh veggies-topped with Salsa's, and served on a crusty bun. Both generous Sanquiches were blessed with potato's topped with a mouth watering peppery sauce. I tried to ask Jeanette if she liked her Saquiche but she wouldn't stop eating! Finally, she announced that she plans to return to Cafe Rumba next week with her friend Maria Rose from Ecuador. She also commented on the uniqueness of the Yam and it's wonderful blend of vegies and Salsa's. Now I'm convinced that every choice at Cafe Rumba is the perfect choice! Bravo Cafe Rumba! I am now joining the regulars!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rumba also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rumba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.