We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for something new and unique? Check out Cafe Rumba!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rumba

Cafe Rumba
1140 North State Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
360.746.8280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 389 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Peruvian
Restaurant details
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
“Looking for something new and unique? Check out Cafe Rumba!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Quick Take:
* Delicious sandwiches! My favorite is the Pavo (turkey)
* Try the chicha drink (purple corn juice) or Inca Cola for an authentic experience!

This place is awesome - really delicious food in a fun and casual atmosphere. They specialize in sandwiches but also have various non-sandwhich daily specials. I have tried nearly everything on the menu (and it's all delicious!) but my absolute favorite is the Pavo (turkey) sandwhich, because of its unique "black mint" sauce... sounds weird, I know, but it's seriously delicious (I also usually have them add the onion mixture to my Pavo sandwhich). My boyfriend's favorite is the Buttifara (pork), but don't let the description fool you - it says "ham" but it's not like thin-sliced deli style ham, it's big thick slices of pork. Make sure you get some Chicha or an Inca Cola to complete your Peruvian dining experience :)

For those of you who haven't had the pleasure of trying Peruvian cuisine - the flavors are unique, but are agreeable enough that they will likely please those who might not normally like various "ethnic" or "exotic" foods.

I always hear people here in Bham complain about not having much variety when it comes to food choices, but whenever I mention Cafe Rumba I usually get a "oh, where is that place? I think I've driven by and seen it but haven't tried it". GO TRY IT BELLINGHAMSTERS!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lummi Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Confusing to order, but worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We weren't really sure what we were ordering but the staff helped us figure it out. The sauces for the sandwiches were very tasty and the price seemed reasonable. The ambience left a bit to be desired and it was a bit chilly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Different but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We opened the door at 1 minute until 6PM. The sign said they closed at 6 but they told us to come on in. Really nice friendly people. The restaurant is in an old building which has seen better days and the decor is early thrift shop but the revues were really good and we had never had Peruvian so had to try it. The food lived up to revues. I had the chicken with the blackmint sauce. Wife had tofu something but she liked my sauce better and kept scraping it off my sandwich. We will go back again but next time we promise to get there before 6!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Go here for good authentic flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We like food with flavor. Their food has it. Simple enough. We're excited to try the soups as well. Make sure you come on Thursdays for $5 sandwiches.

Avoid the desserts (maybe they used all the flavor in the sandwiches and didn't have any left over for the desserts:) but definitely try some of the authentic drinks.

Cafe Rumba will be one of your most satisfying lunch spots in Bellingham. This town needed something like this.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sandwich in Bellingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I don't know why I waited so long to try Cafe Rumba on State Street in Bellingham. Yesterday I stopped in for a sandwich, and it was unbelievably good. The meat was tender, the sauce was amazing, everything was fresh and delicious. The staff is courteous and the prices are reasonable. Everything about the experience was good. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rumba also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rumba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.