We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at Larrabee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larrabee State Park

Larrabee State Park
Bellingham, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Camping at Larrabee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The trains go by frequently and they either wake you or keep you awake. There is no IDEAL campsite to avoid the noise, but try to get a site to the east side of the campground.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    19
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The LarabeeState Park is simply stunning. My husband and I wwere humbled by the beauty of the trails. Be sure to go up to Fragerance Lake and takethe short hike to the lookout point-you won't be disappointed. Also, to visit Washington state parks you need a Discovery Pass ($10 per visit or $30 per year). I've heard they check for the passes, so best to take care of this before visiting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everson, Wa. USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best campgrounds I have ever been to!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

All services available for RV's, and Tent camping to.
But the best is the scenery and the beach, rock climbing, a stage and pavilion that the Washington state rangers have many presentations on.
The only down side I would have to this park is the BNSF main line goes right through the park, but I never heard them blowing the horns.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Depends on your orientation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Since I grew up in the area I have many fond memories of this park. The problem is that this is not the type of park I would go out of my way to visit if I was from outside the area (try Deception Pass State Park instead). If you like exploring tide pools, exploring the many trails and semi-trails, or just like to wander amidst Madronas, etc. this is a great place. There is a large picnic area so it lends itself to large group gatherings (if you reserve the area ahead of time). As others have noted, there is a main north-south railroad line (BNSF) running through the middle of the park with trains (sometimes very long) at all hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was really not much of a park. Train tracks through the park, views mostly obstructed. Limited access. We were disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larrabee State Park also viewed

 

Been to Larrabee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larrabee State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Larrabee State Park to your Saves list