We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't plan to sleep.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Larrabee State Park

Larrabee State Park
Bellingham, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: State Parks
Attraction Details
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Don't plan to sleep.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you are staying in a tent, don't plan on sleeping. We counted 5 very loud trains come through and where we were camping in site 45, the ground vibrated as the cars rumbled by. Second night was better after moving to site 4 and sleeping in our car. The state park website should come with a noisy warning!

Issue #2. No working outlets in the bathroom. No power = no hair dryer. Issue #3. The field area above the beach smelled. Possible septic field failure?

All that said, this area has incredibly nature beauty. Spend a few hours exploring - just don't spend the night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    19
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Depends on what you are looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

If you want a pretty park thats convenient and cheap and you are not sensitive to noise this is for you but if you are looking for a peaceful get away with beaches you can easily explore swim at and fish at this is not your place there is no swimming the shellfish are toxic tons of dead fish crabs on shore very rocky and difficult to explore some of the noisiest groups of campers and you literally count the noisiest trains trains to sleep very well kept clean park with nice staff but need more noise enforcements one family let there children start the day on there scooters at six am if not earlier these children were obnoxiously yelling and screaming while scooting up and down the campsites and running through peoples campsites when i made myself get up i was disgusted to find out it was quarter to seven these same children were playing tag in the dark screaming there heads off at 11 pm the previous nite and we had campers around us partying till early sat am this park also has a ton of very cute but overly brave and hungry raccoons who sneak up at you after 8pm they also know how to open coolers and run off with your garbage they also apparently like to jump on your vehicles as there muddy footprints on the hood of our truck told us if you want a more peaceful alternative try dash point state park

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for Alaska ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We needed a place to camp near Bellingham WA before boarding the Alaska ferry the next day. We selected Larrabee State Park because it was 15 minutes away from the ferry dock and was very near the water. We're glad we did. We had full hook ups on our camper van and a nice flat secluded camp site under the trees. The trails heading to the beach were quite nice and the scenery was great. We'd learned that trains come and go by the park at all hours - not great - but we weren't bothered inside the van so no problem. Maybe inside a tent might be. The mosquitos weren't bad but they had found the place. It looked like the place was mostly full in mid May but we had reservations. It's convenient to the Alaska ferry terminal and a nice place although somewhat pricey to camp.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“great place for all ages to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

whether camping here or just exploring and checking out the beach Larrabee is always fun, check out the Amtrak loudly go by or a freight, watch the herons and stellar jays and seabirds and gulls, look for starfish and crabs, watch freighters and tankers go by, climb on rocks, watch the water and look at the island sin the distance, have a picnic, read, play catch, whatever.Drinking fountain has okay to drink water and restrooms stocked.Been here on and off since like the 4th grade and it has always been great.one of those places you bring out of towners to see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Watch out for permit regulations and fees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are visiting from another state, watch out for permit regulations and fees. You might think this would be a great place to visit but the red tape and fees greatly reduce the enjoyment.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larrabee State Park also viewed

 

Been to Larrabee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larrabee State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.