We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a casual but fresh and delicious lunch or breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Bread & Cafe

Avenue Bread & Cafe
1135 11th Street, Bellingham, WA
+1 360-715-3354
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 334 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A great place for a casual but fresh and delicious lunch or breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

What's not to like here: great sandwiches, prepared to order, with fresh ingredients, on their own delicious locally-baked breads: whether a vegetarian, vegan, or carnivore, there are plenty of creative and fresh sandwich combinations for all - as well as a variety of salads, two or three excellent daily soup options, and decadent bakery items, both sweet and savory.

So put your order in at the counter, take a seat, and enjoy a very tasty fresh breakfast or lunch - or, if you prefer, take it with you to enjoy somewhere else. I promise that once you've been there, Avenue Bread and Cafe will become a favorite place for breakfast, lunch, or take-out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast is the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Came to Avenue Bread & Cafe for a quick bite before starting the day. Man, those egg sandwiches are delicious! I had a difficult time choosing which one, but was nonetheless satisfied with my choice! Good coffee, great set-up. Good light from outside, plenty of tables, and a clean-up-after-yourself attitude I can get behind. I wish we could have come back to try lunch; their paninis sounded amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambo, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just down the street from Trader Joes, an unassuming place from the street however the food is better than most. Tried the omelet special and was not disappointed, spinach, caramelized onions, bacon, cheese and more with a large helping of crisp shredded hash browns.. The rye toast had caraway seeds and a crispness that can only be had in an artisan loaf. The only problem was my husband kept stealing my toast. He had Sausages and eggs with whole wheat toast. The sausages are large, with herbs and the toast had a sourdough taste, with a crisp exterior and tender crumbs. Glorius and we will be back. Oops, mustn't forget the packs of freezer jam were a nice touch. Meal was 22 bucks inclusive and we had to give some to the dog as the portion was large. Will be back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
185 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Ever Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a must stop for anyone coming near downtown Bellingham. Many good restaurants but for an afternoon or early evening sandwich this place cannot be beat. Great staff and atmosphere as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gr8t bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Try the Egginues for breakfast. Mmmmm. The coffee is good too and the sandwiches make an excellent lunch. My wife and visit every time we are in Bellingham.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Bread & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Avenue Bread & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Bread & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.