We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped seating next to someone drinking alcohol!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pickford Film Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pickford Film Center
1318 Bay Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
360.647.1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cramped seating next to someone drinking alcohol!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The seating in this theater is narrow and there is barely any legroom, the whole time I felt like I was sitting in the lap of the stranger next to me who was consuming an alcoholic beverage. For some this might not be a problem.......but for me it was. Since many of the films are foreign or independent, I would rather wait and see them from the comfort of my own home. It is a shame that a brand new facility did not consider the comfort of their patrons.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My first visit to this nice little rep house downtown. Clean and well maintained. And the film ("56 Up") was great, too. I will return.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Alternative to Big Theatres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We love the Pickford. The quality of movies shown couldn't be better. We're not even from Bellingham but when staying in Fairhaven we always check the movie listings and, undoubtedly, find ourselves watching a film at the Pickford. I sure hope this small theatre manages to stay open for a long time.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are not Pickford members, but frequent their movies. This is not a run of the mill Hollywood Blitz theater. The selections of films are wide ranging and often with a lot of foreign content. The physical theater lobby has room sharing coffee while you wait for friends to arrive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Concession stand/Usher takes his job entirely too seriously”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was watching a movie in the back row of the theatre, being completely silent. I realized I needed to shoot a quick reply text. With my phone covered I was making a reply text. The light from my phone was seen by noone but me, I was making no sound, I was not speaking on the phone and my phone was in no position whatsoever to be assumed to be filming (as it was covered)......and like a hawk I have the usher sternly tell me that I immediately need to put my phone away or I will need to leave.

Under any other circustance of disturbing anyone with light or sound.....or if my phone were in any position to be filming, I'd understand, but this was literally laughable and disrespectful to a paying customer.

Won't be going anymore. Thanks, but no thanks. I'd rather watch it at home & save the money than deal with an anal usher.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickford Film Center also viewed

 

Been to Pickford Film Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickford Film Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.