We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pickford Film Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pickford Film Center
1318 Bay Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
360.647.1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: Movie Theaters
Attraction Details
Ferndale, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are not Pickford members, but frequent their movies. This is not a run of the mill Hollywood Blitz theater. The selections of films are wide ranging and often with a lot of foreign content. The physical theater lobby has room sharing coffee while you wait for friends to arrive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Concession stand/Usher takes his job entirely too seriously”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was watching a movie in the back row of the theatre, being completely silent. I realized I needed to shoot a quick reply text. With my phone covered I was making a reply text. The light from my phone was seen by noone but me, I was making no sound, I was not speaking on the phone and my phone was in no position whatsoever to be assumed to be filming (as it was covered)......and like a hawk I have the usher sternly tell me that I immediately need to put my phone away or I will need to leave.

Under any other circustance of disturbing anyone with light or sound.....or if my phone were in any position to be filming, I'd understand, but this was literally laughable and disrespectful to a paying customer.

Won't be going anymore. Thanks, but no thanks. I'd rather watch it at home & save the money than deal with an anal usher.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We need more theaters like this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Pickford Cinema is a gem of a theater partly because of its location and size (downtown, small) which make it a fun alternative to big chain theaters, and partly because of its excellent movie choices. We like foreign comedies, quirky films that don't fit Hollywood formulas, and all kinds of unusual small-budget films that are accessible and not too avant-garde (they also have very esoteric choices). The real popcorn is one of the Pickford's best features, and the fact that you can get a beer or wine to drink along with it in the lobby is pretty nice! With its newly remodeled space and very comfy chairs, this is a favorite Bellingham activity for my family and friends.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pickford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Unusual films in quality small theater. nice atmosphere. comfy seats. you can even have a beer in the lobby, nice dining close by.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“We read about the Film Center and went to see Old Goats.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
We were the only ones in the theatre, but we don't mind.
The Cafe Bliss was next door, a good find, too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickford Film Center also viewed

 

Been to Pickford Film Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickford Film Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pickford Film Center to your Saves list