We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No real public access” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Whatcom

Lake Whatcom
Sudden Valley, Bellingham, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 65 things to do in Bellingham
Attraction details
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“No real public access”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This lake is, from what I could see, totally surrounded by private residences so I'm not sure what the point of visiting it would really be. I have also heard questions about the potability of the water.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pretty lakeside drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lake Whatcom is a lovely moderate-to-large lake for taking a lakeside drive. It has microclimates which can have to you sunshine at mile one and mistly clouds at mile 5 -- you never know. It's proximity to Bellingham make it easy access.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Fun”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had a great barbecue - some members rented equipment - kayaks etc. We brought our food and grill and fixed it outside the boat house. The shower and toilet room was nice and warm.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Swim, boat and float!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Lake Whatcom is a wonderful freshwater lake, accessible from the Bloedel Donovan Park - launch boats or swim.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A huge and beautiful local asset.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Lake Whatcom is over 8 miles long and, in places, more than a 1/2 mile wide. It is the water supply for the City of Bellingham. It is surrounded by heavily forested mountains and delightful neighborhoods. There are beautiful parks, numerous trails, and good boating and fishing available. The setting is as spectacular as any Northwest lakes. Yet, its location uphill from the main sections of town is totally hidden from passers-through and is even invisible to an amazing number of locals. This is one of Bellingham's and Whatcom County's premier attractions!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Whatcom also viewed

 

Been to Lake Whatcom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Whatcom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.