We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellingham's jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Whatcom

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lake Whatcom
Sudden Valley, Bellingham, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bellingham's jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Since we live on the lake...my opinions are bias. This lake is great for any kind of water sport. Best place to be on a summer day! Great view all year!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    3
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have friends on Lake Whatcom so we had an opportunity to visit them. The day we chose was amazing as it was sunny and the water was sparkling. We look forward to returning when the weather is warm.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Plenty of open lake area for boating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lake Whatcom is large for an inner city lake, almost 8 miles. It has 3 boat launches,which at times can get really busy but once you get out in the water, there is plenty of open space to pull kids on towables, water ski, etc. If you head down towards Sudden Valley and are in the mood for Pizza, you can call Tinos Pizza and they will deliver to the dock.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cougars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We used to rent cabins/houses, and camp along the Lake every summer, with our kids and boat. The lake is beautiful! And warm once you ease in. BUT a couple of summers ago the group of us were inside our cabin at the very south end of the lake and right where my young son had been fishing from shore hours prior, out walks a min 180lb cougar! We called local authorities to let them know. But needless to say we didn't spend much time outside with the kids after that! We did get one vague pic before he/she slinked off into the brush. Be. Careful. Kids + pets = food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Washington
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“great place for water sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lake Whatcom has nice facilities for a number of activities and water sports. The drive around the lake is also very scenic and there are a number of places to stay overnight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Whatcom also viewed

 

Been to Lake Whatcom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Whatcom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Whatcom to your Saves list