We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of open lake area for boating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Whatcom

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lake Whatcom
Sudden Valley, Bellingham, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 31 attractions in Bellingham
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Plenty of open lake area for boating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lake Whatcom is large for an inner city lake, almost 8 miles. It has 3 boat launches,which at times can get really busy but once you get out in the water, there is plenty of open space to pull kids on towables, water ski, etc. If you head down towards Sudden Valley and are in the mood for Pizza, you can call Tinos Pizza and they will deliver to the dock.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    3
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cougars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We used to rent cabins/houses, and camp along the Lake every summer, with our kids and boat. The lake is beautiful! And warm once you ease in. BUT a couple of summers ago the group of us were inside our cabin at the very south end of the lake and right where my young son had been fishing from shore hours prior, out walks a min 180lb cougar! We called local authorities to let them know. But needless to say we didn't spend much time outside with the kids after that! We did get one vague pic before he/she slinked off into the brush. Be. Careful. Kids + pets = food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Washington
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great place for water sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lake Whatcom has nice facilities for a number of activities and water sports. The drive around the lake is also very scenic and there are a number of places to stay overnight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hard to Boat there anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not what it used to be. They took out the Diving Platform, and too many ducks there. I think you can still swim there

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Whatcom Falls...what a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We almost didn't visit Whatcom State Park. The weather had been overcast and rainy, but, in recalling Trip Advisor reviews, decided to venture into the Park. Boy, were we rewarded.
For me the primary attraction was Whatcom Falls. We found the falls not too far from the parking lot, so it was one of our first Park experiences. From there we carried on along one of the main trails that led us in a gently graded, meandering loop walk that brought us back to the Falls.
Then we were rewarded, as the late afternoon sun shone through the forest onto the Falls. Glorious.
Whatcom State Park reminds me of Stanley Park in Vancouver. It is in an urban setting, but gives a natural wilderness experience. Lucky are those who live nearby.
Don't miss this Park. It is a gem.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Whatcom also viewed

 

Been to Lake Whatcom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Whatcom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Whatcom to your Saves list