We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of open lake area for boating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Whatcom

Lake Whatcom
Sudden Valley, Bellingham, WA
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 65 things to do in Bellingham
Attraction details
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Plenty of open lake area for boating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lake Whatcom is large for an inner city lake, almost 8 miles. It has 3 boat launches,which at times can get really busy but once you get out in the water, there is plenty of open space to pull kids on towables, water ski, etc. If you head down towards Sudden Valley and are in the mood for Pizza, you can call Tinos Pizza and they will deliver to the dock.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
204 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great place for water sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lake Whatcom has nice facilities for a number of activities and water sports. The drive around the lake is also very scenic and there are a number of places to stay overnight.

Helpful?
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to Boat there anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not what it used to be. They took out the Diving Platform, and too many ducks there. I think you can still swim there

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bellinghamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Whatcom Falls...what a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We almost didn't visit Whatcom State Park. The weather had been overcast and rainy, but, in recalling Trip Advisor reviews, decided to venture into the Park. Boy, were we rewarded.
For me the primary attraction was Whatcom Falls. We found the falls not too far from the parking lot, so it was one of our first Park experiences. From there we carried on along one of the main trails that led us in a gently graded, meandering loop walk that brought us back to the Falls.
Then we were rewarded, as the late afternoon sun shone through the forest onto the Falls. Glorious.
Whatcom State Park reminds me of Stanley Park in Vancouver. It is in an urban setting, but gives a natural wilderness experience. Lucky are those who live nearby.
Don't miss this Park. It is a gem.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big and cold, great on hot days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The lake is a bit odd in that it provides all the drinking water for the town, yet allows motorboats in it, as well as houses along it. There is a public beach at one end which the kids loved jumping off the bridge into the COLD water.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cullen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Whatcom also viewed

 

Been to Lake Whatcom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing