We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy room with windowseat overlooking waterviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Chrysalis Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cozy room with windowseat overlooking waterviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Chrysalsis Inn and Spa was the perfect location for a cozy weekend getaway. It is set right on the water and provided beautiful sunset views from the window seat in our room. Our room was equiped with cozy throws and pillows, perfect for reading a book, enjoying a cup of coffee, and taking in the view. The deep oversized bathtub set beside the retractable wall, allowed for sunset views from the tub. To top it off, the plush bathrobes and inroom fireplace made this the ideal room for a romantic, quiet weekend.
A boardwalk runs from the hotel down across the water and into a great little park. At the end of the boardwalk is Woods Coffee shop. What a great afternoon stroll along the water enjoyng a latte. Dinner options are abundant and within walking distance. There are trails that lead from the hotel into Fairhaven, a cute little town with specialty shops, bars, restaurants, and bookstores. There's even a great little place, Magdalena's Creperie, that tasted like true French crepes where we enjoyed breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    66
    22
    9
    15
See reviews for
29
118
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sartell, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I love this place and have stayed a couple of times before but this stay was awful for sleeping. I counted at least 6 trains that went past that woke me each night. The train is very close. All night long trains were going past.
Other than that this is really a lovely place, the food is very good and the contemporary style is comfy and warm. It is really styled to be relaxing and it is when trains are not moving through.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

POOR! Was given a gift certificate to use in the spa. Enjoyed my massage and the steam room, but the "relaxation area" was anything but. It was so crowded that I had to stand in the back corner between services, not even a seat! Not very relaxing : (

Then, when I went to check out, they would not honor the gift certificate. They claim that a card should have been attached to it, even though there was no indication that a card was ever attached, or any reference on the cert. to not being valid without a card. The gift giver says there was never a card, and now both she and I are out $100. I am still wrangling with them over this, and am amazed by the condescending attitude and poor service all around I have received in this matter. Pretty shabby for a service-based business. NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here the evening of our wedding. The room was lovely and we had a beautiful view. Very comfortable and relaxing. Good surrounding area to wander around during the day and then walk the pier at night.

We are planning to return here for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

This is one of Washington's best-kept secrets! Seriously, the Chrysalis is understated luxury right on Puget Sound. The room, the staff and the spa are top-notch. We went on a special package offered on the website which was an incredible value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Went for a wedding. Everything was clean, nice, yummy, just a nice get away. Great place for walkers. Long walk to Bellingham, short walk to Fairhaven. Good staff, nice rooms. Some folks at the wedding could definitely hear the train right next door more than others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Hubby and I came to the spa for a couples massage. The spa is amazing. So clean and pretty. The staff are all so accomodating to your every need. They really treat you like royalty here. The massage was divine, but yet pretty pricey. But the nice thing is you can stay as long as you like just lounging around in a robe or sit in the steam room. My only complaint is the locker room is tiny. It is very awkward for changing. And also the lockers were so small I could barely get all my things in. Also I wish that the relaxation room overlooked the water. But it is on the complete opposite side of the building. I definitely want to return to this spa!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Address: 804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
Chrysalis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.