We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel close to Old Fairhaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chrysalis Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Modern hotel close to Old Fairhaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located a few blocks from the centre of Old Fairhaven, the Chrysalis offers a modern boutique hotel feel. The rooms are spacious and all have fireplaces, window seats and large bathrooms with large soaker tubs and separate showers. The rooms on the front look directly out over Bellingham Bay while those on the sides offer views north to Bellingham or south to Fairhaven and the Alaskan Ferry. The train tracks run immediately below the front of the hotel so the earplugs provided are probably required if you want to get a solid nights sleep as, depending on the time of year and the associated freight traffic, there may be 6-8 trains go buy through the night. A cosy spot for a relaxing getaway, curled up in the window seat watching the weather and activity on Bellingham bay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sides are cheaper than those facing front, but are all equally nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    81
    26
    9
    18
See reviews for
34
141
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautifully designed, thoughtfully managed and in a great location on the edge of picturesque Fairhaven with it's turn-of-the-century buildings, coffee houses, book stores and restaurants. Everything about our stay was pretty close to perfect, however I personally found the train noise from tracks located just below the hotel disconcerting.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel sits right on the Bellingham Bay, just a short walk to Fairhaven. Right outside is a long walking bridge that glides you out over the water where you can sit, read, or use the opportunity for some exercise. The rooms are very clean and well kept. The layout of the rooms was spacious and relaxing. We did eat breakfast at the restaurant and it did not disappoint, not to mention the view made for the perfect way to start the day.

Room Tip: We have stayed here twice and the room directly facing the water did receive more train noise than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off I would like to say I could care less about train noise. To me its romantic and I was barely aware of it here. I will confess though that I almost though the earplugs on the nightstand to be bed turndown yummies but no.

So we were burned out on Semiahmoo and looking for options, found the reviews of Chrysalis glowing and very positive. So I booked a night for a weekend getaway. I've travelled around the NW enough to know what 200-300 per night can deliver. The Surfsand and Run of the River stand out in that regard and they set the bar high. Cruising up Chuckanut drive to Fairhaven and the Chrysalis, My expectations were high. Our side view room was nice but not amazing. Bland. The staff's attitudes seemed forced and insincere. Young, and without any of the polish one gets with experience. The "best restaurant in Bellingham", according to one reviewer, was again uninspired and noisy. And that was for breakfast. Fortunately we didn't invest in dinner.

I felt like the whole place was on autopilot. Not involved, not intriguing. No bad enough to send me back to Semiahmoo but I do wonder what the Fairhaven Inn is like.

Room Tip: Side rooms are great to get a view without being out front for the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A well appointed and large room with beautiful views, a nice fireplace, and nice amenities. Room service was quick from the excellent restaurant downstairs. The staff was friendly and helpful. I have only good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is beautiful with cozy, romantic rooms and friendly, helpful staff. The bed is inviting, and comfortable. A good book and a warm fire made for relaxing evenings, and venturing into town was fun for shopping and good beer.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Chrysalis Inn for our wedding anniversary. It is a beautiful hotel with great views of the bay. The staff was very friendly especially in Keenan's where Sam, David, Ryan and the Chief Michael made the evening memorable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Address: 804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.