We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chrysalis Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place has the nicest staff. In fact, I think Bellingham has the nicest people in the U.S. The only thing startling was the train that rode by but you get used to it. Otherwise, I recommend this place.

I didn't have time to take advantage of the spa, but I hear it's top notch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    79
    25
    9
    18
See reviews for
34
135
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you're traveling north of Seattle and looking for a special place to relax, I invite you to check out the Chrysalis Inn & Spa. My wife and I have been there twice, and each time find it a relaxing getaway. It offers a great view of the bay and is an easy walk into town, where you'll find a nice selection of shops and restaurants. The Chrysalis does offer a nice verandah for dining, a cozy bar, and great food!

If you love trains, this is the place for you! Although it can be a bit noisy at times with the windows open, you'll see Amtrak passenger as well as freight trains. I think it kind of adds to the charm of the place.

Room Tip: Choose a bay view and big bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

While I happened to be at this hotel due to business in the area, I would definitely say that this is a truly romantic hotel on the bay.

I had a room on the third floor with an absolutely gorgeous view of the bay. Sunsets are absolutely amazing and something that you would want to share with that someone special.

The rooms are very comfortable, furnished with luxurious amenities. The whirlpool and fireplace just add to the overall warm feeling that you get in this hotel.

The trains do run pretty much right outside the hotel, but I must say that even with their close proximity, you really do not notice them much. Once in a while you get a toot of the horn, but it is not like it is right outside your window when this happens. As others have said, it adds to the ambiance and romance of the place.

The staff is warm and inviting. I did not get an opportunity to partake of the spa offerings, but they appear to have a wide array of offerings.

The restaurant is very good and a nice place to spend the evening. I would recommend the patio seating. Go for happy hour and stay for the sunset. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Full bay view rooms have excellent views. I had the third floor.. Definitely one of the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ask for a full bay view, plan on spending some time here looking at the view of the bay, lounging at the bayside restaurant, or walking the boardwalk. Clean, spacious, beautifully furnished-and a soaking tub. If we had known how nice it was, we would have planned to stay longer. Yes, there are trains at night, I think they stopped around midnight. We counted 5 total and they just added to the romance. You can't hear them very much if you simply close the window.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The wife and I stopped by for lunch on a beautiful July day. We decided to get a table on the veranda and happily they had overhead heaters since the temperature was on the cool side. The wife had the special soup and salad of the day and loved it. I had the fish and chips with the cold slaw and really liked the fish and slaw but not to crazy about the fries. There are probably a dozen restaurants in the area but probably none of them have the view we had from our exclusive table on the veranda. So if you're looking for something with a view and decent food you should definitely give this place a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The room was lovely and big with great view of the sound. However the train tracks and trains go by often during the early morning hours. The resturant and bar are very good with great outdoor seating.

Room Tip: Not all rooms face the sound, but they Re lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

From the moment I walked in and smelled the lavender exhaling from the spa next to the check-in desk, I knew I would love this hotel. I have stayed several times, typically several times a year visiting my son who attends WWU. The rooms have lovely bay views, cozy window benches for reading, fireplaces and well appointed bathrooms and oversized tubs. I have never been disappointed with my room choice or visit. Stroll the over the bay boardwalk to Woods Coffee or take the path all the way to Bellingham and the Farmer's Market.
FOREWARNING, know that Bellingham is not only a hipster (sorry son) college town, its built around train commerce and the trains including coal run frequently and throughout the night. Anywhere and everywhere especially west of I5 you will hear trains.
Ear plugs are provided and the down pillows help muffle the train horns as it passes the intersections. Consider it part of Bellingham's charm, have a glass of wine and get a massage to relax!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Address: 804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.