We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New linens please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Chrysalis Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New linens please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This would have been five stars if only they would have had decent linens! The hotel itself is beautifully done, the room was wonderful, from the layout to the decor. The room boasts a fireplace and charming window seat. The views over Bellingham Bay are great. Everything about this hotel is top notch, except for their bed linens. They were actually scratchy, their quality was so poor. Even their pillows were lacking. My husband said, half jokingly, next time we stay here let's bring our own sheets and pillows. We will be back, it is a lovely hotel and very charming room!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    90
    29
    11
    19
See reviews for
36
159
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

After spending time driving around trying to locate the property, we checked in early only to find that our room was not ready. The staff made every effort to expedite the room and our stay began to really take off. The lounge is small and intimate, with a staff that is young, energetic and is dedicated to make you feel "special". The bartender was very creative and excellent. The dining room is cozy with a great view of Bellingham Bay. The wait staff was well trained and also dedicated to creating a great dining experience. The food portions were ample and well prepared. The room was large, had a soaking tub and fireplace, the beds were comfortable. There are train tracks next to the property with trains going by 3-5 times a night, but t he rooms were fairly well sound insulated so the noise was minimal.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Bay view are well worth the "up charge"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Inn and loved it. My wife's job is stressful and she needed to get away. Our birthdays are a few days apart and so we decided to splurge stay someplace fancy with a spa and some local color. The Fairhaven area of Bellingham is right next door to the Chrysalis and they looked to have a good spa. At first we were a little concerned about the trains since my wife is generally a light sleeper. Those concerns were amplified a bit at first when we found our water (and track) facing room equipped with earplugs, but in the end the trains were a non issue. A number passed while we in the room, but the hotel sits somewhat above the tracks and the trains go by slowly so the noise is minimal. There was none of the vibration that also usually accompanies nearby trains either. On the other hand the room was delightful, the staff helpful and the spa wonderful. We each took 90 minute Swedish massages, which were well worth the expense. I've had fancy hotel spa massages before, which were more of a "feel good by the laying on of hands" sort. This was a real deep massage, with some discomfort when the therapist found a tight spot. Days later, though, I'm still feeling the positive effects. We also availed ourselves of happy hour in the bar. Our drinks and small plates were excellent and more than satisfied our need for dinner.

Room Tip: A truly light sleeper may not want a water facing room. The other side of the building is the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hectic events of the holidays deserve some downtime seclusion around mid January. Not too far from Seattle, the Chrysalis Inn and Spa is the perfect destination. It located on Bellingham Bay just an hour and forty five minutes drive from Bellevue, WA.

You can even drive up Chuckanut Drive on a nice sunny day for some scenic prelude to the views of your room at the Inn.

there's lots to do around town and the dinner choices range from low down microbrew pubs to casual elegant dining at Keenan's at the Inn or like us , we ventured out 20 minutes to dine at The Fork on Agate Bay. Perfect!

Watching the sunset from your room is priceless! The jetted tubs add great relaxation and this time can be really helpful to make plans for the busy year ahead!

I recommend The Chrysalis inn and Spa for a new year awakening!!
The Spa services top it all!

Room Tip: select a room that faces the Bay or if you want jetted tubs, pick the top floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at here the weekend before Christmas. It was a relaxing visit before the hectic family holidays. We enjoyed the spa, indulged with 90 minute massages, dined at one of our favorite Bellingham spots, D'Anna's, and did some last minute shopping. The inn is in a great location within walking distance to Fairhaven and the Woods coffee shop. It is located next to the train tracks, but we did not notice the sound even though our room was on the water. Staff service was marvelous!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is located in a great location, right on the water and on a public pier.
All the rooms have a great water view and are stylish with jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces.

Restaurant is tasty and has a good selection of wines. Great happy hour.
Easy parking underground, you can leave your car and walk to old part of Bellingham - Fairhaven.
Spa, has a great ambiance, is small but charming. You can use sauna if you are staying in the hotel as much as you wish. If you forget flip flops, hotel will pro wide you wit a set. Use your bath robes. Spa services and very high-end.
You can go there just to relax for a night or a weekend or spend a pleasant time while working!

Great prices for a King room on the week days.

Room Tip: disregard swimming pool, since it doesn't have on
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Rented the corner suite for a treat for my wife. Beautiful suite, great view, comfortable bed. Free DVD's to be checked out, although DVD player only in the front room. Huge soaker tub with view. Train noise not that loud, on the third floor anyway.

Room Tip: Corner suite, third floor, huge soaker tub, great views, less train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lakeway Inn
#11 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Address: 804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.