We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room for Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chrysalis Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Olympia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Room for Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed one night in a 'side-view' room on a weeknight, and so far nicest place in Bellingham. Even the greyhound was welcome....a definite plus. Staff were welcoming, grounds and decor clean and bright; a fireplace in the room as well. We did not do drinks, meals, or spa....but that will be for a return visit. Adjacent to the Inn is walkway - park that you can take into Fairhaven 'proper' or go down to the bay waterfront. Ample parking. A very nice all-around stay!

Room Tip: Check on a side view room if you don't require direct bay view, or may be concerned about proxii...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    86
    27
    11
    19
See reviews for
35
148
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Room very pleasant and my wife loved the large tub. Wonderful window spot that could have used a reading light. Restaurant offers fine food, well-paced, dinner and breakfast. Wait staff great, tried wine, not what I wanted and simply replace with no charge. Relaxing stay with great location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Seriously. The trains are not that frequent, or loud. I actually thought it added some charm. We celebrated our first "WWU Parents Weekend" with an overnight stay and it was perfect. We enjoyed Happy Hour watching the outstanding sunset with delicious snacks (enough that we made a meal out of it! Must have the truffle fries!) and refreshments. Love the local special brews! Our room was beautiful, and my youngest was enthralled by the not only the bay window seating/bed, but the tub, fireplace and the supersoft sheets! The amenities were just right for us and although the parking garage was full upon our arrival back at night, the street parking was just as easy and close. We look forward to our next visit! And hopefully a visit to the spa next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife booked this for our daughter + 2 babies and us on our way to a celebration of life for my sisters husband on Lumni Island. We absolutely loved it. The restaurant was very accommodating of the 2 & 3 year olds, and got us in and out quickly which was exactly what you want, and the food was over the top. The one bedroom suite was also over the top, with separate dining table, small fridge, and stunning views. My wife and I always say to each other after a stay or meal..."Would you go back?"....and it was a resounding YES to both the accommodations and restaurant!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Who on earth would think of putting a hotel directly on the railroad tracks?!?!
Did they think that building their resort would somehow persuade the railroad to stop running their trains at night or something? Honestly, it's astounding that the city approved a permit for this kind of usage. Unless your hearing can be completely turned off, do not expect to sleep or enjoy a peaceful spa experience at this otherwise absolutely delightful property overlooking the beautiful bay and San Juan Islands. The rooms are exquisitely appointed with a deep window seat, luxurious soaking tub, romantic fireplace, and upscale amenities. The property is lovely. But as they say, "Other than that, Mrs. Lincoln, how did you enjoy the play?" Once a freight train has rumbled through your sleep, does the appearance of the room really matter?

Another odd thing is that they have occupied parking spaces in the underground garage to store broken lamps and other odds and ends from around the hotel. You'd think they'd want to at least hide this stuff behind a screen or something, or preserve the parking spaces by installing a storage shed out of sight. It doesn't create the best impression to see this refuse stored in plain sight.

And the staff are oddly indifferent and not very engaged. A very ditzy/spacy desk clerk in the afternoons, and the guy at check-out was reading his newspaper and seemed not very adept at running the computers and credit card machine. Is there a manager here?

Room Tip: If you could move these lovely rooms to some other address, you'd have a glorious stay. But unti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is very nice, comfortable and in a great location. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed being able to walk to Fairhaven to shop and eat. The restaurant at the hotel is nice, but limited, and it was nice to be able to walk to other options.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, but some are right above the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I like the Chrysalis very much and have stayed several times. The rooms are very comfortable and the trains don't bother me....much. This time (September 2013) I was disappointed to find that they no longer offer the buffet breakfast (for I think it was $6.00). It was the best hotel buffet breakfast I've encountered: not just coffee, stale rolls, and yogurt, but good scrambled eggs and bacon. Alas, now it's all menu-driven. I ordered the Wavos-rancheros and it was just eggs on top of a heap of black beans out of a can. When I checked in the gal at the desk said breakfast is served 7:30 - 11, so I assumed nothing had changed since my last stay only five months prior. Oh, well. Also, I ordered the scallops for dinner the night before...room service...and although tasty, they were incredibly salty! I guess the restaurant is under new management. As for the spa, I've never tried it because I get scared off by the announcement that spa services should be scheduled two weeks in advance. When I go to Bellingham it's usually spur of the moment.

Room Tip: I think they all have at least partial water views so you can't go wrong there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Address: 804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.