We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice. Very Nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Chrysalis Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Bellingham
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice. Very Nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Get the room(s) facing the water. Nice view. Yes, the trains do come by. We stayed here our last night after visiting Vancouver and Victoria due to flying in and out of Bellingham. If I had to do it over again, I would have stayed in Bellingham and at the Chrysalis another night. Loved the small restaurant, the bar and walking into town along the path. Pricey but very nice.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    73
    24
    9
    16
See reviews for
32
125
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg,Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel on beautiful setting , near to Fairhaven but forget staying there!! You will never fall asleep. I counted 5-6 trains with blasting noise as they passed by the window. Can't believe any developer would build on the tracks.. Yes, the lake view is great but the headaches aren't worth it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a wonderful time we have at the Chrysalis. We've been there over night twice and each time has just been lovely. The rooms are so pretty and comfortable and the views enchanting, especially if you love the NW. We had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant and great breakfast as well. Location is wonderful for shopping in Fairhaven. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Be prepared to use the ear plugs if you are on the water side, due to the train. But I think it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are looking for a place to enjoy a romantic weekend getaway, the Chrysalis Inn and Spa is the place to visit. Our room had a beautiful view of the waterfront. The rooms are spacious and include a two person bathtub, fireplace (gas with a switch), and plush bedding. There are also many amenities. Some are not included in the room (e.g. mini bar, aromatherapy bath products), but they have wine glasses and an opener if you want to bring your own bottle of wine or keep food in the minibar refrigerator instead of ordering the romance package add on to the room rate. The location is perfect for an evening sunset stroll or a short five to ten minutes walk to Fairhaven for dinner. We also saw an outdoor movie in Fairhaven Saturday evening. The staff are wonderful and accommodating. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I left the big city on the 4th of July to enjoy a "Spa" vacation in a quiet location. My two night stay at Chrysalis was perfect. In walking distance of charming Fairhaven and Bellingham Bay. Great 3+ mile walkway right on the water. Room with great view was a mini Spa with big bath tub. The staff at the front desk, Spa, and restaurant were friendly and welcoming. The Spa was oh so nice! Get a facial from Christina and you will also leave looking rested and relaxed. Some may find the trains that journey often by the hotel a disturbance, I enjoyed them and it was only on the second night I figured out why earplugs were provided!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The place is great. Room was great. Service was excellent. The restaurant was very cool overlooking the bay. Great happy hour deals. Breakfast was incredible. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Chrysalis is a wonderful place. Generally I have not reviewed a place more than once, but since it has been a few years I thought I would post another review. Its still great. The service is excellent. Deanna at the front desk was a pleasure. Friendly and helpful. The new restaurant Keenan's is a big improvement over Fino. Being form BC it is very close for an easy getaway. I still have not heard the train from the room. One does go by as I saw it while sitting on the patio at the restaurant. Fairhaven is a nice little town and a good spot to walk around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Address: 804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
Chrysalis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.