We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy the beauty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Chrysalis Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relax and enjoy the beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I left the big city on the 4th of July to enjoy a "Spa" vacation in a quiet location. My two night stay at Chrysalis was perfect. In walking distance of charming Fairhaven and Bellingham Bay. Great 3+ mile walkway right on the water. Room with great view was a mini Spa with big bath tub. The staff at the front desk, Spa, and restaurant were friendly and welcoming. The Spa was oh so nice! Get a facial from Christina and you will also leave looking rested and relaxed. Some may find the trains that journey often by the hotel a disturbance, I enjoyed them and it was only on the second night I figured out why earplugs were provided!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    69
    22
    9
    15
See reviews for
30
120
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The place is great. Room was great. Service was excellent. The restaurant was very cool overlooking the bay. Great happy hour deals. Breakfast was incredible. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Chrysalis is a wonderful place. Generally I have not reviewed a place more than once, but since it has been a few years I thought I would post another review. Its still great. The service is excellent. Deanna at the front desk was a pleasure. Friendly and helpful. The new restaurant Keenan's is a big improvement over Fino. Being form BC it is very close for an easy getaway. I still have not heard the train from the room. One does go by as I saw it while sitting on the patio at the restaurant. Fairhaven is a nice little town and a good spot to walk around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

On a return trip from Canada, I decided to stay in Bellingham, WA. In my AAA Guidebook, I found the Chrysalis Inn and Spa and opted to give it a try. I was not disappointed. The facility is beautiful and the views of the bay are outstanding. My suite was well-appointed with a dining/sitting room, a large bedroom with a convenient window seat and a luxurious bathroom. The staff was friendly and quite helpful. When I asked for information about the detour around the Skagit River Bridge, they provided all the needed tips. Furthermore, I was informed about an additional delay that I would encounter as I traveled south on I-5 the next morning. The only small issue with my stay was the train which passes very close to the inn. Although it woke me up once during the night, I might have avoided this if I had used the earplugs that were provided on the bedside table. However, this was not such a big problem, so I'm sure I'll be back for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The room was just okay, nothing special, typical of mid-priced rooms. Bathroom okay but, careful!, baskets of products and snacks placed around the room, complete with (over)price cards. Terribly mercenary. Overpriced products.

Also, the self-righteous card in the bathroom "water waste - tons of detergent waste" then "1) a towel on the rack means 'I will use again' 2) a towel on the floor means 'please exchange'. PLEASE DECIDE for yourself". But, it would have been really nice if there had been more than one towel rack in the bathroom, which was smaller than the bath towel, 1" from the wall, and centered over the tub behind the door. Nevertheless, I painstakingly hung the bath towel, arranged the hand towels, only to return to the room later in the day to find ALL the towels replaced. So, who exactly is the message meant for? Do they manage the staff?

Happened the second day too. By the third day, everything went on the floor.

Called and called to arrange a wakeup call, but no one every answered. Oh well.

Hated the gas fireplace, makes me unwell.

Will most definitely look for another place to stay in the area next time.

Room Tip: People, the hotel is on the edge of the bay. The only thing closer to the bay is the train. It is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really a lovely property. We got the last corner King Suite available...and it was just lovely. Large...great view and a lovely window seat. One of the best bathrooms I've had ANYWHERE. Only drawback is the train that goes by quite a bit! They do provide you with ear plugs....but it feels like an earthquake is occurring and it's pretty much around the clock. You get used to it...but you can't ignore that it's there. That's the only drawback. Bellingham is just a beautiful, cool, funky place....Total surprise. The restaurant at the hotel is quite good too...and it is perfectly situated...just can't ignore the train....

Room Tip: Get a King Corner Suite...it's perfect...and use the ear plugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great views, peaceful surroundings, beautiful spa, slightly uncomfortable beds and the sound of trains every 15 minutes (or so it seems) that will keep you awake most of the night. I've stayed at this hotel three different times but this last visit the train noise was too much and too often, I will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Address: 804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
Chrysalis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.