We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spa experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Chrysalis Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spa experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My finace has been several times, but I just had a massage and facial at the Chrysalis. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    79
    25
    9
    18
See reviews for
34
135
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel is the perfect romantic getaway. My husband and I have stayed here twice, with both times being luxurious experiences. The first time was complimentary thanks to a contest I won. We were upgraded to a suite that came complete with an amazing view of Bellingham Bay, a jetted tub for two, a mini kitchen area with microwave, fridge, minibar, etc., a gas fireplace, sitting area, and a romantic cushioned window seat. We enjoyed the spa on this first stay too. With complimentary Swedish massages the mood was set! The spa area is quiet and relaxing and they think of everything from the heated neck wraps to the soft robes, from the tea bar to the steam rooms! Our second stay at the Chrysalis was at our own expense so we didn't spring for the upgraded suite, but our room was still just as nice with the tiled bathroom, tub (not jetted) for two, bathrobes in room, cushioned window seat, sitting area, gas fireplace, and view of the bay. The only things missing this time were the tub jets, microwave & fridge. The room was a bit smaller too, but that made it even more cozy! The hotel does warn guests about the train noise and they leave ear plugs by the bed which is an indicator that they can be distracting. My husband is a sound sleeper, so he didn't hear a thing even without the ear plugs. During our first stay I didn't use the ear plugs and wasn't really bothered by the occasional train. During the second stay I must have been more restless because the trains seemed to be continual and even with the ear plugs they were bothersome. But, the luxury and romance of the entire hotel experience made up for the lack of sleep. The breakfast buffet at Fino (the hotel resturant) is absolutely worth the $5 per person it costs to add it to your room fee. The eggs with sausage and seasoned country potatoes served during our second stay were fabulous! My one tip for making your stay extra romantic would be to bring your own "romance package" as the hotel charges an outrageous price for things like candles and snacks. I brought my own candles & holders (don't forget the lighter), bubble bath, chocolates, drinks, etc. The rooms have wine glasses, a bottle opener, and ice bucket for your convenience. If you don't have a suite with mini fridge, you'll want to bring an ice chest to keep your drinks and perishables cold. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: The third floor has amazing views of Bellingham Bay! (But, I'm sure all three floors do since a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This is a great getaway with fine food and lodging stretching toward the ECO side of the plate. The included breakfast was indeed perfect. There is a train track behind the Inn however the noise was subdued by good soundproofing. The rooms are very spacious, however go online to retreive the reduced pricing.

Room Tip: Less noise facing the road but no ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We just stayed here last night and loved it!! Spoiled and pampered is how you'll feel after staying here. My husband and I have stayed here several times and the consistency of high quality service and wonderful little touches to make you feel specail are truly appreciated. Yes, there are trains that go by, but one would expect that seeing as the railroad track is right behind the Inn. However, the schedule is random and the sound of a train to us is really quite enjoyable. If the sound bothers the guests, the Inn provides ear plugs to address that. The service that we received from the moment we checed in is exceptional. The young man who took care of us for breakfast went out of his way to make sure that all of the guests were made to feel very special and was quick to refill coffee, water or what ever else we needed. He deserves a raise!!

The room itself was extremely clean(room 304) and we loved the view. The Inn lobby as well as the Spa have extra goodies that you can purchase to make the stay more enjoyable, massage oils, candles or bath treats, all of which are of excellent quality.

We will definetly be coming again to stay as this is by far the nicest place around!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd floor if possible, the views are magnificent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin. Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. The attention to detail is just amazing - there are cozy window seats complete with comfy throw blankets and a fireplace with a timer. The bathtub is jetted and incredible and there's a big window between the bathroom and the bedroom so you can watch TV from your tub - ideal after a long day!

The location is also very nice. Not far from several tasty restaurants in Fairhaven and some stunning hiking trails. There's a running trail/pier in the ocean just outside the hotel with people jogging away at all hours.

The only downside is the front desk can be a little rude; the hotel rate was changed after I made reservations and I wasn't told about it in advance. Additionally, there is a train that runs past the hotel that can be a little loud, but it hasn't bothered me at all. Finally, there is no gym. Not even a little treadmill-and-free-weights-in-a-room setup. Which is surprising for such a fab hotel.

Overall, the annoyances are minor and shouldn't majorly detract from a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Rooms that directly overlook the ocean also directly overlook the train tracks; avoid if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The views were magnificent, the inn lovely to look at, but with the broken platform bed, disturbingly soiled blankets and abundant trains rolling through all night long, it was awful. Expensive and awful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I have traveled to many resort hotels for business and personal trips all over the US (including Hawaii), and the deluxe corner suite at this hotel was one of our all time favorite rooms. It was beautifully decorated and luxurious. As others have described, the view of the bay is wonderful and can be seen from the side via the living/dining room, from the bedroom (with window seat/daybed), and from the two-person jacuzzi. The shower is built for 2 with a shower head on opposite sides, and the bathroom and shower are beautiful granite/granite-look tiles. The train noise is hardly noticeable if you travel with a small, easily portable sound machine as we do, since you never know if there will be people or events that may be noisy no matter where you stay. Not only was the breakfast wonderful, but we ate dinner at the in-house restaurant, Fino, and it was a wonderful gourmet delight with a gorgeous view. All the staff, including servers, that we came in contact with were delightful. We moved to another location in Bellingham after staying here, and we truly wished we had not made plans to stay at a different hotel. As far as I could tell, there is no equal to this hotel in the area. Take a sound machine with you and have a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Corner suites have a beautiful bay view from every window, including the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Address: 804 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chrysalis Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.