We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal at a small price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asian 1

Asian 1
4285 Meridian St, Suit #101, Bellingham, WA 98226-6484
360-752-2422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 388 restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai, Vietnamese, Cantonese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Booneville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“great meal at a small price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

service was prompt and food was great. We got there late, but the people fixed our meal in no time. The food was very flavorful and just what we wanted for the night. Parking was easy and simple. location was great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    22
    18
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lummi Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Asian Food for Lunch in Bellingham!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place used to be called Pad Thai. We've always liked it. But it really has improved. They have about 20 lunch specials priced between $7.99 and $11.50. All come with options for white or brown rice, and with the choices of meat, Tofu is always included. They've got a "Super Low Calorie and Super Healthy" option and list the calories involved. If you want sugar free, they got rid of the Splenda and now use Stevia instead - great idea! They have Gluten Free options, too. At lunch time, soup, salad and rice are included in the price of the meal, which makes lunch time a real bargain. Not true at dinner - more expensive and you pay extra for soup, salad, etc.

This last time I ordered the Pad Kee Mao #78. It was the best thing I've had there. It was nice and spicy, had the wide slurpy rice noodles, and a great variety of veggies - mushrooms, corn, red bell peppers, celery, bamboo shoots, zucchini, and more! The side salad is always the freshest baby greens and yummy peanut dressing. The daily soup was delicious and much improved over past visits.

Another of my favorites there is their Red Curry.

We come here at least once a month and think it's the best deal in town for lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Such a great place for lunch or dinner.
Good prices and fresh food. Can't get any better than that
The service was great too

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Fabulous Server”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a party of 10 for a birthday celebration at Asian 1 on Meridian in Bellingham. Our server was very busy with multiple large parties, but she did a great job of taking care of us and keeping her smile the whole time! She even made time to visit and joke with us as we were all in a lively, festive mood. The sushi is some of the best in Whatcom County and the chicken pad Thai is always perfect. The portions are generous and the prices are very reasonable. And they're always willing to go the extra mile to help my husband and I share our meals (bringing extra plates and dishes). This time they went even farther by making it super easy to split a raspberry mojito (which comes iced in a nice sized decanter for refilling your glass as the dinner progresses). We each got our own glass with raspberry puree and mint on this night which was really nice since we were sitting kitty corner and across the table from each other. We could have shared a glass, but two glasses for one drink made it much more convenient. This a good restaurant for large parties such as ours was this night, but it is also a great place for a casual date or lunch with a friend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Everybody in town recommended this place, but it was bland. The soup tasted like a toilet. The only good thing was the friendly waitress.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian 1 also viewed

 
Burlington, WA
 

Been to Asian 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.