We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time I've stayed here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bellingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Bellingham to your Saves list
Motel 6 Bellingham
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3701 Byron Street, I-5 at Exit 252, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Socal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Third time I've stayed here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

I like to cycle from the Canadian Border down to Oregon or California for vacation and this motel is always my first stop of the trip. I like Motel 6 for this kind of trip because they're cheap and always have laundry facilities. On the other hand they tend to be near freeways and for some reason they don't provide shampoo.

This motel is the same as any of the other Motel 6's I've stayed at although I'd say if anything it's slightly above average for a Motel 6. The rooms are a bit small and noisy but as I've cycled 60+ miles from the Peace Arch I can still sleep fine. The manager is a very sweet lady. I've never checked out the pool.

This one has a Haggins across the road which is an awesome store. Check it out if you ever stay here. They also used to have a great Papa John's pizza nearby but they went out of business :-(

To summarize: This is not the best motel in the area but it is perfectly adequate for me and I consider it good value. When I'm travelling with family and staying multiple nights I stay at the Days Inn on Meridian.

  • Liked — Cheap, clean, laundry
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
11
8
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

We just needed a place to stay for one night. I had never stayed at a Motel 6 before, so this was something new for me.

There were absolutely no extras, but the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated, and the shower was wonderful.

We arrived too late to use the pool, and it was raining, so we wouldn't have anyways, but it looked clean.

We received 10% off our meal at Ihop the next morning by showing our room receipt, so that was nice. We were also in walking distance to other restaurants, and it was easy to get on and off of I-5. Of course, we were situated right above I-5 so it was pretty noisy, but we were tired, so slept well anyways.

The staff both checking in and out were pleasant and helpful. The rate was extremely reasonable, and for one night it was fine.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — I-5
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grants pass
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed here because it was affordable and on the way to Vancouver, BC. The hotel was clean. Check-in was easy. However, the noise from the highway side is absolutely horrible! Book a room on the "quiet" side or do not stay here. We could not sleep at all!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

In late July 2007, my husband and I stayed for a week. We chose Motel 6 because it was cheap and closer to the downtown area than some other hotels. I admit that I was a little nervous because we had read some bad online reviews, but I should not have been - our stay was just great. We had requested a room on the other side of the highway, so it was very quiet. The desk staff - Gayle and Janice - were very helpful and the housekeeping was all that anyone could want, including clean white sheets and towels every day, extra toilet paper, soap and cups. The ice machine always had ice - and we needed a lot because we kept a styrofoam cooler in our room all week. The coffee and microwave are in the lobby, not right in the room but free coffee is available every day until 10 a.m. The pool was always warm and clean and they had just spruced up the landscaping. We had a lovely stay. Give the Motel 6 in Bellingham a chance unless you want to spend a lot more for the same thing!

Nancy (West Los Angeles)

  • Liked — Great value for the price.
  • Disliked — Phone receiver was a little loud.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

I have stayed at other Motel 6's so knew what to expect. I was drivng to Vancouver so needed somewhere closer to the border. Everything in Bellingham and Vancouver are very expensive but I remembered this Motel 6. The Room was $60, but since I was arriving after 11pm and leaving by 7am I figured how bad could it be? Well let me tell you. First the check in procedure makes you feel like a criminal. You talk to the barely functioning 'clerk' thru bullet proof glass. He wasn't content to just see my ID, he said he needed me to remove it from the wallet and give it to him. He then proceeded to imput almost everything from the drivers license. I travel for a living and have NEVER had anyone copy all the details off my license. He then proceeded to argue with me that I couldn't have the Senior discount cause even though AARP is honored their definition of SR is different.
As far as the room goes, it was supposed to be non smoking but had an ashtray. The light switches didn't work, there were no drinking cups, no shampoo, no waste can in the bathroom, no shelf in the bathroom. The bath towel is about the size of a washcloth and my favorite? The noise from the adjoininhg highway was deafening. I layed awake till 3 am waited till 6 am then just left. I doubt if I slept at all. Please, Please, Please stay away. It is a cheap price but not if you can't sleep, or have any basic necessities. I appreciate its a basic hotel room, but how much can you eliminate? No kleenex, cups, stopper in the bath, or garbage can. This was the worst one I have EVER stayed in.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — highway noise, lack of amenities
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2005

Stayed here in the summer and only because other nicer hotels were full. Its a step up from sleeping in the car,but just barely.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2005

We went to check in at 6pm, our room was not ready yet. I was told they were short staffed and they were sorry. When we were finally able to check in, I walked into the room and almost fainted. First, I couldnt breathe, I thought for sure I must of gotten a smoking room by mistake. The carpet was so filthy looking I couldnt believe it. Im not talking a few little stains, Im talking like a pack of wet dirty dogs had been tromping around. I immediately went to the desk and asked about the smell and rug. I was told that I had a non-smoking room, and sorry about the carpet, they hadnt had a chance to clean the carpets on the top floor yet. If I hadnt of been with my sons baseball team, we would of left right then and there. We ended up staying 2 nights due to tournaments in town we were committed to. The next day while we were gone, my room was not even touched. Fine I thought, lets just get through this. I went to the front desk and asked for some clean towels, I was told, sorry were out. I told her I would be back in a few hours, she better find some clean towels. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I would sleep in my car before I stayed here again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bellingham

Address: 3701 Byron Street, I-5 at Exit 252, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bellingham 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Motel Six Bellingham
Bellingham Motel Six
Bellingham Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Bellingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.