We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection In A Boutique Hotel on The Marina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Bellingham
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfection In A Boutique Hotel on The Marina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our recent two night stay at Hotel Bellwether was better than I could have imagined. From start to finish, we were very pleased. Check in was easy, staff were polite and friendly in every interaction we had during our stay. They seemed to be genuine in their conversations with us and made it clear they were there for us if we needed them. I never enjoy being coddled or fawned over needlessly by hotel employees, and the staff was perfect in that they were not too fussy, and treated us like guests in their own home. They were also very kind to my little old dog, which always scores points with me!

Our room was on the ground floor, and while at first I was skeptical of the location, all it took was one look out the sliding door to prove me wrong. The view was amazing of the marina and hotel property. The oversized patio that ground floor rooms enjoy was where I spent my free moments taking in the sunshine, the view, the yachts and boats passing by, and one restaurant lunch to go. I felt like I was relaxing on my own private patio in my marina front home! It was lovely.

The restaurant take out lunch was also very good and quite the bargain during happy hour. The view from the restaurant and outdoor dining area is breathtaking, but I did not get to enjoy it due to our dog Curly not being allowed, which makes perfect sense. I do not fault any restaurant for this, of course! I did get a chance to peek at it though, and I would recommend dining there, or at minimum having an adult beverage on the patio to take in the views of the marina and The Sound. Breathtaking!

Our room was well appointed, spacious and very quiet. The jacuzzi tub was an added bonus in a large, comfortable bathroom. All in all, the room was perfect for us.

I do not write reviews of bad experiences, nor do I write them of mediocre experiences. Only fabulous experiences are shared by me, and Hotel Bellwether made the grade in my book. It was one of the lovliest places we have stayed due to the property itself, the staff, and the location. There are two other small properties that I adore and have been a repeat customer of...The Pulitzer in Barcelona, and The Empress in La Jolla. Hotel Bellwether is now officially one of my "perfect places"! We will return, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Thanks to all who made this a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
First, we thank you for your comments! We love dogs here at the hotel and any chance we have to interact with our guests and their pets, we jump on it! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do pride ourselves on having good customer service and I'm glad that came through during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    64
    22
    13
    23
See reviews for
38
126
5
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We've stayed here twice now. The first time we left our Seattle home with no itinerary and ended up there (had never heard of it just walked in) at 6pm. We were given a great rate, on a suite and loved every minute of our stay. The view was great, we appreciated the boutique hotel vibe and walked to a restaurant next door. I think we got such a great rate because they were pretty empty and how many more people would be walking in that evening? The second time we came, we brought our infant daughter and were again pleased with our (even bigger) room although even with advanced planning the rates had gone up considerably. I check periodically and the rates seem pretty high for this hotel. We like our weekends away but for the price we could stay in Vancouver or Victoria just as easily. That's not to say we won't be back but we'll wait for a deal

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We do often run specials for mid week and sometimes weekend stays on our website or if you call into our Reservations department. We look forward to having you and your family back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Too often review are written just for hotels where we have a difficult visit. This is NOT one of those. The Bellwether is a very comfortable hotel in a lovely marina setting. It's spotlessly clean indoors and the outdoors is well groomed. The staff was friendly, the rooms were roomy and well insulated, so, quiet. The bed was SO comfortable, there was free WIFI in the rooms, and therewere plenty of channels on cable. Our room without a water view actually had a great view with a little water showing. The free continental breakfast included fruit juices on ice, toast and muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cuts and cheese, cereals, and coffee, Breakfast was well displayed, delicious, and available in a window lined cafe with gorgeous views of the water. Loved Anthony's Hearthfire Grill next door too. The only thing that I could think of to change would be to make the pillows a little beefier.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for your comments! We are so pleased that your stay with us was great. We strive to make every guests stay with us just that same way! And we look forward to having you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We went to Hotel Bellwether for one night to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We drove to Bellingham and just walked up to the counter making a reservation right then. They put us in a room we didn't like (facing the parking lot) so we went back down to the desk and asked to see the one remaining water view room. We had initially declined it because of the price but the parking lot view is kind of dismal so we decided to have a look. There was a wedding that week and all the other water view rooms were occupied. The one room left wraps around the elevator and is really two rooms that have been turned into a suite. She let us look at it and we did. We moved and had a great stay. The view was lovely, the service was great and the room was immaculate. The furnishings in this hotel are amazing, solid wood without a pre-fab board anywhere to be found. We had drinks in the lounge and the service was pretty good. They get pretty busy around happy-hour and could probably use one more person but it wasn't anything to get upset about. Overall it was a great stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for your comments. First, happy anniversary and I'm glad that you ended up spending it with us! Glad to hear that our staff got you a room that you truly enjoyed. We hope that now you know about us, you come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

beautiful hotel, secure parking underneath. Gorgeous views of the harbor. When we first arrived, the air conditioning in our room didn't work, so we were promptly given another room. The restaurant in the hotel is classy and very good. This is an upscale hotel and pricey. I wouldn't think a family with small children would stay there. The rooms are beautiful with fireplaces and decks overlooking the harbor. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank You for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and that we could take care of the air conditioning issue right away and get you set up in the perfect room! We look forward to accommodating you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We Stayed at the Bellwether on July 4th. What a deal, $277 and no hot water. We stayed there after the fire works so we could sit in the jacuzzi and relax. When we called the front desk they said they would look into it. An hour later we still didn't have enough hot water to fill 5" in the jacuzzi. In the morning, still not enough hot water to take a 3 min shower. When we checked out the young man there just told us we were the only ones who had a hot water problem. Oh-well being of the 5th generation from this area, I have LOTS of people I can tell, "What you can get for $277 a night + tax at the Bellweather!"

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank you for your comments. As much as we wish every stay could be perfect, there are times that the unforeseen issues do arise. My apologies that your stay was less than perfect and I hope in the future you will allow us another opportunity to show you this is not what you should expect from the Hotel Bellwether. If you have any further comments, please feel free to contact me at gina@hotelbellwether.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Large room with spa tub and nice view. Comfortable and quiet. Spa next door is wonderful. Breakfast was included but different than before. Was just continental this time, no hot choices unless you order, pay additional and then you still have to visit buffet for toast or juice. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank You for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to accommodating you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellwether, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.