We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweeping views and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Hotel Bellwether
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Bellingham
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sweeping views and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We rode our motorcycles to Bellingham to escape the torrid July heat and found the Bellwether to be a welcome respite. While we did not have a water view, the room was extremely well-appointed, with comfortable bed, large soaking tub and separate shower, and fireplace (off for Summer). Despite opening onto the courtyard above the check-in portico, the room was quiet.

Service at breakfast was superb, with a very reasonably-priced Continental breakfast buffet, stocked with several tempting items. All were delicious.

The property has a large verandah with comfortable lounging furniture, and fronts onto a well-paved trail that runs along the marina to nearby restaurants.

Obviously, having a water view would make this the perfect romantic getaway, so if it's important to you, be sure to specify.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
To Sara U,

Thank you so much for writing us this amazing review! Your words bring a smile to my face! We strive to provide an excellent and unique stay for every guest and it appears that you were able to experience this. It sounds like you will be back, so please contact our friendly front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to secure your reservation.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    75
    23
    14
    23
See reviews for
41
137
5
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Bellwether is a lovely property, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Sunset Suite which is beautifully appointed, relaxing, comfortable bed, fluffy white robes and over-sized thick towels and the bowl of fresh fruit a delightful surprise. You feel very pampered. The views of the bay, marina, hotel grounds and mountains are just amazing. The only fault is the restaurant. The staff were cheerful and professional, perfect really and the restaurant clean, comfortable but my salad of "designer" lettuce arrived and the first forkful had a huge piece of "slimy" rotten lettuce. The salad was riddled with it, the server took it away and apologized. This put us off eating there, but the hotel is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
To Trish1946,

Thank you this glowing review of our hotel! I'm glad that the incident in the restaurant did not hinder your stay. I hope to welcome you back again soon! Please contact our friendly front desk staff at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100 to make your next booking.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Bellingham isn't anything to take a second look at, but The Bellwether was a lovely respite. Right on the waterfront of Bellingham Bay you have an excellent view of boats, float planes and mountains. It's gorgeous. The rooms are well appointed - beds are exceptionally comfy with luscious silk bedding. The bathrooms are dated but spacious. The fridge/coffee maker/accouterments are very nice - plenty of Starbucks coffee and snacks. The restaurant is good - most tables have a view. The outdoor patio is the best - large patio furniture to sink into and watch the water.

Room Tip: I was lucky to get a room on the water side - I can't imagine what the experience would have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
To NonaKim,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It in unfortunate that you were unable to enjoy all that Bellingham has to offer. There are tons of outdoor activities, such as hiking, kayaking, sailing, and biking. There are also great places to walk around and do a bit of shopping and walking around, such as Bellis Fair Mall, Downtown Bellingham, and Fairhaven. We also have plenty of city parks with much to offer: Whatcom Falls Park, Cornwall Park, and Boulevard Park. Next time, please ask our friendly front desk staff about fun things to do and we will gladly fill up your time in our beautiful city! Lastly, thank you for your kind words in regards to our property, our patio and waterfront terrace is the best spot in town to sip a glass of wine and watch the sunset. Thank you for staying, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Would have given this hotel 5 stars were it not for an underwhelming experience at breakfast. Front desk staff were amazing--very friendly, super helpful. Room was large and clean, if a wee overpriced. Location is stunning for its view and access to nice restaurants within a short walk. But the breakfast was sub par. Food unamazing to say the least.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
To Swampcactus,

Thank you for kind words in regard to our hotel. It is unfortunate that our restaurant was not able to satisfy your expectations. I hope to welcome you back to our property in the future. This fall we will be rolling out new menu items so do come give our restaurant another shot. We will also be starting our fall and winter promotions, which may help out those cost conscious travelers.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice accommodations. Water view is the odd numbered rooms. Gym facility is across the outdoor parking lot and minimal. Hotel is near downtown (one mile). Avoid the hotel restaurant for breakfast, service very slow. Our two buffet meals were wanting. Two menu meals were OK. Recommend the Old Town Café at 316 W Holly Street for Breakfast or lunch, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
To BrunoSegno,

Thank you reviewing your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our property. I have forwarded your concerns with the service and food to our food and beverage manager. We are currently working on developing a new fall menu, set to debut in October or November. I hope that you come and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Located on the water in Bellingham Bay, it has the friendliest and most accommodating staff you will find anywhere. If you have a room on the water, you won't want to leave your balcony. I have stayed on the water side before, and loved my room. In room 326, NOT on the water, it's a different story. The bed was shaped in the letter "V", so my husband and I kept rolling into each other throughout the night. Funny the first time, not so funny at 5 in the morning for the 10th time. The trains come throughout the night, making sure to blow their whistles as loud and as long as they possibly can, making me realize that the engineers must delight in waking people up. This room did have a balcony. It overlooked the front entrance, parking lot and businesses, and allowed my husband and I to hear the late night and early morning comings and goings of everyone and every vehicle. This particular room only had a light for the bar, one side of the bed, a desk and one chair. You couldn't see what was in the closet, and if one person on the wrong side of the bed wanted to read or use a nightstand, they were out of luck. I informed the hotel front desk about our issues, but with it being high season and hosting several weddings (I told you the water front was amazing!), there were no other rooms to be had. The bottom line is this hotel is amazing, but only if you get a waterside room.

Room Tip: You will love your room as long as it is waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
To Michelle C,

Thank you for bringing our attention to the issues with your room. We have since remedied the situation and now have a brand new mattress in the room you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The place is overpriced for what you get....not a great location. I guess if you stay in your room, and don't do much...I think if they lowered their prices by 30-50% and offer specials that would make a visitor wanting to try the place! it could help???but this is not the Waldorf but the brochure seems to want to compare it to much more upscale and better located boutique hotels. I would not go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
To Hanky53,

We are one of only two waterfront properties in Bellingham, WA and you chose to stay with us during our peak season, when we are at full occupancy almost every day. We do encourage our guests to book early in order to take advantage of our special deals and promotions. It is unfortunate that you were not able to take advantage of those promotions.

Thank you for your time,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellwether, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.