We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, serene hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Hotel Bellwether
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful, serene hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Follow the excellent direction to the Hotel right on the water. Our suite was amazing with a fireplace, living room, bedroom and spa. Although there is a bar and restaurant on site, we chose to eat at Hearth Fire for dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Beautiful quiet location, amazing staff, treat yourself and get away . Stop by Fairhaven for one of Katie's Cupcakes!!

Room Tip: Much easier to just stay in and next to hotel for meals, sightsee Bellingham and Fairhaven before an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia6048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
To Patricia6048,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay and writing us this great review! All of our suites have a gas fireplace, sitting area, king size bed, an air jetted tub, and a fantastic view of the harbor or bay. For those trying to save a few dollars, our Executive rooms have the same amenities and have either plaza or harbor views. Our staff is the friendliest in town and we pride ourselves on providing the best customer service. I hope we can welcome you back for a future visit. Feel free to check out our website for our latest promotions or contact the front desk for that personal touch we are know for. We can be reached at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

An incredible waterfront luxury property with a wonderful happy hour in the bar topped only by the outstanding menu and delicious dishes in the dining room. What separates this property from any other is the staff that makes you feel like royalty during your stay and, when you leave, counting the days until you can get back again!

Room Tip: corner suite with view of bellingham bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
To Jon S,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this fantastic review! I am glad you had the unique and luxurious experience that we strive to provide to all of our guests. I am excited to welcome you back! Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff by calling 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to make your next booking.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIG HARBOR
Level Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe suite and it had enough room for a football team, well it seemed like it. The view overlooking the bay was astonishing. We hardly heard any noises which made for a nice relaxing weekend getaway. Itwas the perfect home away from home!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mom2my4boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
To mom2my4boyz,

Thank you for writing us this amazing review! Our suites are spacious and the views are unbeatable. For those that don't need the extra space, our Executive rooms are very cozy and quaint. Please contact the front desk at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to book your next stay, or keep an eye on our website for our latest deals and promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great hotel, Great location. Amazing rooms. We stayed in the Sunset Suite... terrific.

Only negative is the bar; which for some reason they decide to close at 9:00 despite having a full room. Second time in three weeks staying there the bartender closed it down with a full bar and folks continuing to come in. Seems like a waste, and put a damper on an otherwise great stay.

So me and the others she kicked out went next door. Their bar had other guests from the hotel that got turned away. We all laughed and had a nice glass of wine before bed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
To Brent H,

Thank you for you reviewing your recent stay with us. I have taken your comments regarding the lounge to the appropriate department heads. Despite your concerns with the lounge, I am glad that you had a terrific stay in our hotel and enjoyed our Signature Sunset Suite. I hope to welcome you back for another visit. Our website has our most up to date specials and promotions, and our friendly front desk staff can be reached at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is in a marvelous location just blocks from the village downtown area and on a peninsula so it has sunset views from all the rooms on the harbor side. The rooms on the upper floors have the views. There is underground, secure parking and there is a restaurant on the property. Rooms are beautiful with fireplaces and a bathroom with jetted tub and opening hatch so that you can see the harbor. Rooms have balconies. The downside - sigh - isn't there always a downside is that the service is very slow. In the restaurant it is excruciatingly slow. I sat for an hour before my food arrived. Food is good, not excellent but good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roya_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
To roya_7,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We strive to provide the best service, so the Lighthouse Bar & Grill manager and myself appreciate your comments. We are planning to roll out a new menu after Easter so I hope you will give our restaurant another chance. In regards to your comments about the hotel specifically, our views are fantastic, and with the weather getting nicer, those sunsets are breathtaking! I hope we can welcome you back in the future. To make your next booking, check out our website or contact us at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, lots of character, lots of neat small touches to make you feel at home. I can highly recommend this place. Great staff and service too. Location is perfect and try to get a room with harbor view.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Woodlands21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
To Woodlands21,

Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to write us this short and sweet review! I am happy to learn that you were able to experience the unique and luxurious stay that we strive to provide for all of our guests. Please contact our friendly front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to make your next reservation.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Rooms were clean , beds comfy , staff pleasant but for 200.00 + for a off season room I did not not expect to be ankle deep in fetid water whilst taking a 4 minute shower due to a clogged drain immersing me in decades of organisms.

Room Tip: Shower ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
To jason e,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience with us. I'm glad the cleanliness, the comfy bed, and the staff met your expectations. As for the rate, there is not much of an "off season" here, we run at a very high occupancy year round. We encourage guests to book early to get the best rates. I am deeply sorry about the issues with the drain. We stick to strict preventative maintenance schedules in order to keep our guestrooms up to the level our guests and we ourselves expect. There is no excuse. Please contact myself directly to discuss this matter more. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back in order to give us another chance. I will make sure that you are put in the best available room at an unbeatable price.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 27 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 27 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing